PDA

View Full Version : I was wondering if I can interface an Electronic Speed Control from an R/C car



Darkwave696
04-24-2007, 12:24 PM
I was wondering if I can interface an Electronic Speed Control from an R/C car to the BasicSTAMP homework board? Does it interface and is it controlled like a servo? Any help would be appreciated.

the ESC is a Futaba MC-210CB


thanks

Post Edited By Moderator (Chris Savage (Parallax)) : 4/26/2007 1:20:47 AM GMT

LSB
04-24-2007, 11:08 PM
According to the Futaba MC-210CB data sheet, the ESC plugs into the receiver throttle channel. I presume then that any device which controls a servo will provide the neccessary signal to drive the ESC as well. With http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28023, you could control 16 of them (or any combination of sevos and ESC-- up to 16). Of course aBS2 can provide the signal, but signal generation requires continuous output--a better job for the Propeller and cheaper as well--if you aren't running several servos as well.

Darkwave696
04-24-2007, 11:55 PM
Hi,

Thanks for the info. It never occurred to me to look at the data sheet. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/rolleyes.gif
This is my first STAMP project, and I am attempting to build a platform from R/C car parts, which I have a few of. I wanted to do my first project with junk just to get a feel for this whole microcontroller thing. I do know that this particular ESC provides power for the radio through the 2 and 3 pins ( red and black ) so the last question I would have is do I connect pin 1 and 3 to the BasicSTAMP?

Thank you very much

LSB
04-25-2007, 12:41 PM
RC servos have 3 wires, red for positive voltage, Black for ground, and yellow or white for signal. The red battery wire goes to battery positive, the black gets connected to BOTH the stamp ground and the ESC ground--the stamp outputs goes to the yellow wire.

iamscottym
04-26-2007, 08:49 AM
An ESC that also powers the receiver is said to have a BEC (battery eliminator circuit). You could power the stamp with this, yes, but if you're buying the BOE or Homework board, it's easier to just use the barrel connector on the board and make use of the board's 5V regulator.