PDA

View Full Version : Boe-Bot Digital Encoder ......



Nagu
04-21-2007, 12:18 AM
Just came across Boe-Bot Digital Encoder Kit, and after going through the documentation I thought of working on it. But I have a small confusion are those sensors similar to that of QTI (Low proximity) . Is it possible to work with QTI Sensors also with slight modification in fixing them????

Chris Savage
04-21-2007, 12:37 AM
Nagu,

It really boils down to focal point. If you have big enough wheels and perhaps a white/black disc mounted on the back it may work. Using the standard wheels I’m not sure it would. You may have to simply experiment. Take care.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support

Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)
04-21-2007, 05:34 AM
Nagu,

One significant difference is that the BOE-Bot Digital Encoder Kit uses modulated IR sensing, which makes it more reliable under ambient light variations.

-Phil

dbc1218
04-21-2007, 07:59 AM
I tryed doing this with the QTI's and white/black encoder mounted on a larger wheel than the standard boe-bot wheel. It was for my school team, and it did not work very well. the QTI is more sensitive to ambient light and it does not work as fast as the encoder because you have to use the RCTIME command to take a reading. I think it could work if you did a lot of testing and wrote a really good program but it could still be effected by light and will be slower due to the lenght of the rctime. If it was me I'd just get the encoder kit.