PDA

View Full Version : Monitor Voltage with a BS1



Rob311
04-10-2007, 07:43 AM
Im looking to monitor my battery level with a bs1, i only have 1 pin to spare. Any ideas?

Martin Hebel
04-10-2007, 07:48 AM
If you simply need high/low, you could use a voltage divider sized that when the battery voltage is low enough, the voltage input to the BS1 will cross the threshold and go from high to low.

If you need a relative value, perhaps the RCTime command (or equivelent to the BS1) could be used to measure the charge rate of a capacitor based on battery voltage?

-Martin

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
StampPlot - GUI and Plotting, and XBee Wireless Adapters (http://www.selmaware.com/)
Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Electronic Systems Technologies (http://www.siu.edu/~isat/est)

Mike Green
04-10-2007, 10:17 AM
Look at Tracy Allan's website for suggestions: www.emesystems.com (http://www.emesystems.com).

Rob311
04-10-2007, 05:29 PM
The RC time looks easy easy enough.. thanks a bunch

Tom Walker
04-10-2007, 10:20 PM
If you are using a BS1, the rough equivalent is the POT command. RCTIME is a BS2-series command.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Truly Understand the Fundamentals and the Path will be so much easier...

swrider
04-11-2007, 09:13 AM
There is also an· example on using a Voltage Controlled Oscillator (VCO) in the BS1 Appnotes. I use a 4046 and the pulsin command to measure a 6V battery connected to a solar panel and it works great with some math to correct for the non-linear result.

M

Rob311
04-12-2007, 08:41 AM
that sounds more interesting.. can you link me to the app notes?

swrider
04-12-2007, 10:39 AM
http://www.parallax.com/dl/appnt/stamps/bs1appnotes.pdf

page 95 has a schematic of the 4046.
·