PDA

View Full Version : Flex Cable... best way to connect?



DogP
03-22-2007, 04:26 AM
Hey,

I'm trying to connect a Propeller chip to a video output, but the connection between the current display and the main board is a flex cable like this:

http://www.virtual-boy.org/projectvb/projects/displayfix/dispinstalled.jpg

Sorry I don't have a better pic that shows the connection, but I can post one when I get home. Anyway, I'd like to make something that allows me to connect the prop to the output, which is sent out of the connector that this cable plugs into. For testing I just soldered a bunch of 30AWG wires directly to the pins on the back of the connector, but that's not a very strong connection, and I'd rather not do this on every one.

Is there a good way to connect my own board to a connector that takes a flex cable? I've seen places that manufacture flex circuits, but that's definately more expensive than what I'm looking for... I really just need a regular PCB to be able to connect to this connector. If that's not possible, I may try removing the connector and soldering two PCBs together... anyone ever tried that? Something like taking two identical surface mount patterns, tinning both sides, and then using hot air to melt the two boards together?

Thanks,
Pat

Robert Kubichek
03-22-2007, 04:54 AM
I would buy the flex connector used on the mainboard,
and design an adapter board to an IDC flat ribbon connector
used for floppy/hard drives ect with the ribbon cable to match.
Don't make it too long though...

Bob

DogP
03-22-2007, 11:13 PM
Thanks, I'm not sure where to get a cable like that though... do you know a place that sells lots of flex cable types? This is a 30 pin and not very fine pitch compared to a lot of them.

BTW, here's another pic, this time of the connector and how I'm connected to it now:
http://dogp.home.comcast.net/VirtualBoy/DSC00041.JPG

Thanks,
Pat