PDA

View Full Version : How do I make my computer Vista/XP dual-boot ?



Bean
03-13-2007, 09:39 PM
Okay, I know this isn't really Parallax related, but I need expert help, (in more ways than one;)

I recently purchased a compaq/HP machine with Vista Premium on it.

It is working okay, but I would like to now make the computer be able to boot either XP or Vista.

Has anyone done this ?

Can I do it without reinstalling Vista ? All I have is the "restore" CDs.

Do I need to buy "Partition Magic" or can I do it without it ?

Thanks

Bean.


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"A problem well defined is a problem half solved"

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Cheap used 4-digit LED display with driver IC·www.hc4led.com (http://www.hc4led.com)
Low power SD Data Logger www.sddatalogger.com (http://www.sddatalogger.com)
SX-Video Display Modules www.sxvm.com (http://www.sxvm.com)
Coming soon! Propeller based OSD module www.hittconsulting.com (http://www.hittconsulting.com)
·

crgwbr
03-13-2007, 10:18 PM
This (http://lifehacker.com/software/top/windows-vista-beta--how-to-dualboot-windows-xp-and-windows-vista-179906.php) page was ment for the vista beta versen, but it should work fine.

Post Edit: Or you could just get another harddrive and install XP on it.· Then swap them out at your plesure.


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
NerdMaster
For
Life


Post Edited (crgwbr) : 3/13/2007 3:22:55 PM GMT

BobN
03-13-2007, 10:21 PM
Hi Bean,

sorry, but to put both OSes on the same drive you need to start with a fresh drive and install XP first. No other way around it.

I've set many up and they all have to be this way.

Cheers,

- Bob -

Capt. Quirk
03-13-2007, 11:29 PM
Old version on C: drive, install new version (vista) to D:, Windows takes care of the rest.

RDL2004
03-14-2007, 12:23 AM
Apparently it can be done but it will cause some problems that will need to be fixed. Here is what Microsoft says:

How to fix Vista not starting after you install a second (earlier) version of Windows in a dual-boot configuration (http://support.microsoft.com/kb/919529)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
- Rick

Post Edited (RDL2004) : 3/14/2007 3:54:10 AM GMT

Bongo
03-14-2007, 07:40 AM
A virtual machine is a very good answer.· Though getting something that will run with a Vista host may prove a litlle more restrictive than is usually the case.

Suggest have a look at MS·· http://www.microsoft.com/windows/products/winfamily/virtualpc/default.mspx



bongo

potatohead
03-14-2007, 11:40 PM
Another alternative is to install XP onto an external USB disk. Set your bios to boot from USB, then just plug it in when you want to run XP...

Bean
03-14-2007, 11:58 PM
Thanks for ideas...
I think I go with a 2nd hard drive. I hate to mess up my Vista setup now.

Bean.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"A problem well defined is a problem half solved"

"Just because you're approved, doesn't mean you can afford it."
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
Cheap used 4-digit LED display with driver IC·www.hc4led.com (http://www.hc4led.com)
Low power SD Data Logger www.sddatalogger.com (http://www.sddatalogger.com)
SX-Video Display Modules www.sxvm.com (http://www.sxvm.com)
Coming soon! Propeller based OSD module www.hittconsulting.com (http://www.hittconsulting.com)
·

Tom Walker
03-15-2007, 09:11 PM
Bean,
Running XP in a VM under a Vista host has been getting pretty good reviews. And MS VM 2007 is free...

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Truly Understand the Fundamentals and the Path will be so much easier...

potatohead
03-16-2007, 03:14 AM
I run large, server type VM's on a regular basis.

If VMWare player works fine under Vista, I recommend it over the MS VM. Performance is quite a bit higher.

Eric R
03-16-2007, 10:35 AM
Bean (Hitt Consulting) said...
Thanks for ideas...
I think I go with a 2nd hard drive. I hate to mess up my Vista setup now.

Bean.


Bean,

As mentioned above, check out VirtualPC. It is free and you can run a whole host of operating systems. This really is a great piece of software.·

Kevin Wood
03-18-2007, 02:39 AM
I know this a couple of days old, but anyways...

I've run into so many dual boot issues that I've finally settled on a procedure that I'm confident of:

1. Each OS gets ity's own hard drive
2. The ONLY hard drive connected to the system during OS installation is the one that you are installing to. Unplug the power and data cables for other drives. This is the only reliable way to prevent the OS installation from modifying anything on your drives - data or boot sector.
3. Once the OS is installed, reconnnect your drives.
4. On boot up, pressing the escape (Esc) key will usually give you a boot selection menu - just choose which drive to boot from. You may need to mess around with the controller configuration, or add an additional IDE controller card.

This works well if you need the OS to run on the bare metal. Otherwise, VirtualPC or VMWare are the way to go. You will lose some performance on some apps, so a very fast processor(s), drives, and 2GB+ of memory are recommended.