PDA

View Full Version : Dot_matrix_display



TheBest
02-05-2007, 10:23 PM
i try to program a dot matrix display
i want some text like my name to display one by one
the first letter i have is an p and than i want an e ext..
the problem that i found is i can not make the letters display so you can read it
if you want to display a word

have anyone already try this
so they can help me out with this

thanks

greetings me

latigerlilly
02-05-2007, 10:31 PM
Hi,

I've done what you are trying to do. Check out my source code: http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=630082 and schematic: www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/boards/ParallaxPDB.PDF (http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/prod/boards/ParallaxPDB.PDF). Please answer my question in the same link as my source code in the first of 2 posted URLs here.

http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif ,
Lilly.

Pics;
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a371/MINGMAY/Image013.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a371/MINGMAY/Image020.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a371/MINGMAY/Image014-1.jpg
http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a371/MINGMAY/Image005.jpg

Post Edited (latigerlilly) : 2/5/2007 3:55:51 PM GMT

T&E Engineer
02-06-2007, 12:49 AM
I have done this for the BS2 / BS2px / SX-28. I created a 20x7 LED matrix and used 4017 decade counters to drive the display across. Then the message was projected from the right to the left and scrolled across the display. See the attachments.

T&E Engineer
02-06-2007, 01:05 AM
Also if you have a Maxim MAX7219 chip you can display more easily (less·hardware but more software programing) on a LED matrix 8x8 (or 64 individual LEDs). The chips are about $10-$20 but if you go to the MAXIM website you can request a couple of free samples. I have had good results with them as other users on this site has. The only problem that NO ONE seems to know how to do is cascade more than·one MAX7219 to another one. I have had no luck in getting help on this on or off of this site.

Let me know if you need any help on anything I have provided. I have spent a large amount of time researching this type of stuff over the last couple of years.

Tim

TheBest
02-06-2007, 02:11 AM
already thank you a lot
http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/hop.gif·http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/hop.gif

give me more http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/roll.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I am from HOLLAND!!!!!

sorry for my bad english ;)

T&E Engineer
02-06-2007, 02:13 AM
Specifically - what do you want to know more about? Ask the questions and I will answer them. No problems.

TheBest
02-06-2007, 02:28 AM
T&E Engineer said...
Specifically - what do you want to know more about? Ask the questions and I will answer them. No problems.

one point for you

well i need to know how i can easy program a dot matrix (stand alone)

i already have some letters but if you can see in the picture the letter s is realy bad

and if you can see the letter s of T&E Engineer (http://forums.parallax.com/member.php?u=44251)·is very good

so i try to find a solution to make him as good as T&E Engineer (http://forums.parallax.com/member.php?u=44251)·mayby the problem is that i got a dot led matrix of (ledtech (type) lj2041-21-s02)

and to make letters is also very difficult because i dont have a register

on my school the say you need to make a form like

0000

0001

0010 etc and than you can make it in hex

so i hope someone already have made something like i want to make

and than the next thing i want is to control 7 dot led·matrix's

but first onehttp://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

greetings me












▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I am from HOLLAND!!!!!

sorry for my bad english ;)

Post Edited (TheBest) : 2/5/2007 7:34:27 PM GMT

Chris Savage
02-06-2007, 03:39 AM
T&E Engineer said...(trimmed)
Also if you have a Maxim MAX7219 chip you can display more easily (less·hardware but more software programing) on a LED matrix 8x8 (or 64 individual LEDs). The chips are about $10-$20 but if you go to the MAXIM website you can request a couple of free samples. I have had good results with them as other users on this site has. The only problem that NO ONE seems to know how to do is cascade more than·one MAX7219 to another one. I have had no luck in getting help on this on or off of this site.

Tim,

·· OT for a moment here...I'm not sure why you've had any difficulty in daisy chaining the MAX7219.· It should be pretty straight forward.· While I have never had the need for more than 8 digits, I have read up in the data sheet and it would seem these work very similar to the 74HC595 in that you would need to shift all the data down the line and then activate the CS lines for the appropriate units.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support

TheBest
02-06-2007, 06:04 AM
tadaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

first stage is there
no more leds burning how i dont want to burn its a nice s or 5

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I am from HOLLAND!!!!!

sorry for my bad english ;)

T&E Engineer
02-06-2007, 06:13 AM
What did you do differently to fix the problem you had displaying the "S" or "5"?

·It looks good now.

TheBest
02-07-2007, 02:40 AM
T&E Engineer said...
What did you do differently to fix the problem you had displaying the "S" or "5"?

It looks good now.



there are 5 cols
and if you program the first col like this
(oke this look very basic but it works and i have to modify it more )
LOW 12
HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 10
HIGH 9
HIGH 5
HIGH 8
HIGH 13
HIGH 7
HIGH 4
HIGH 11
LOW 0
LOW 6
HIGH 1
PAUSE 1

than the first col blinks up but because the outputs will hang (it look like that ) i send te next string for the same col
like this

HIGH 12
HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 10
HIGH 9
HIGH 5
HIGH 8
LOW 13
LOW 7
HIGH 4
HIGH 11
LOW 0
LOW 6
HIGH 1
PAUSE 1

everything go off and you dont have a blur on the other leds more know you can go on with the other cols

mayby it looks like nothing but it works
But i am not finisch

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I am from HOLLAND!!!!!

sorry for my bad english ;)

T&E Engineer
02-07-2007, 03:33 AM
Go to this link:

http://home.wanadoo.nl/electro1/avr/dotmatrix.htm

There are several pages of related projects so besure to click on the top "NEXT" button to move forward.

This page should help you to understand how the display is generated.

Also this link (below) is what I used for my BS2 scrolling display sign.

http://drew.hickmans.net/movingsign.htm



I hope this gets you going. It took me a while after reading and re-reading over and over again.

Tim

TheBest
02-08-2007, 02:37 AM
ok next problem
i got all the letters i want.
but how can i program that first the letter a and than the letter b ,c,d,e,f, etc appear

so i want to show first letter a and after a while letter b
but i dont know how
anyone an idea

greetings me

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I am from HOLLAND!!!!!

sorry for my bad english ;)

Post Edited (TheBest) : 2/7/2007 9:18:53 PM GMT

T&E Engineer
02-08-2007, 07:51 AM
Well - You could use some sort of a routine with IF THEN or CASE SELECT statements. Something like this... (ALSO probably want something more efficient too). Here is a start.

PS: I have not tried this yet but it should provide the correct idea for you.

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

Letter· VAR Byte

Main:

DEBUG CLS, "Enter a Letter: "
DEBUGIN Letter

IF Letter = "A" THEN LetterA
IF Letter = "B" THEN LetterB


GOTO Main

LetterA:
' You can figure out the correct statements for an A
·LOW 12
·HIGH 2
·HIGH 3
·HIGH 10
·HIGH 9
·HIGH 5
·HIGH 8
·HIGH 13
·HIGH 7
·HIGH 4
·HIGH 11
·LOW 0
·LOW 6
·HIGH 1
·PAUSE 1

·HIGH 12
·HIGH 2
·HIGH 3
·HIGH 10
·HIGH 9
·HIGH 5
·HIGH 8
·LOW 13
·LOW 7
·HIGH 4
·HIGH 11
·LOW 0
·LOW 6
·HIGH 1
·PAUSE 1
Return

LetterB:
·'You can figure out the correct statements for a B
·LOW 12
·HIGH 2
·HIGH 3
·HIGH 10
·HIGH 9
·HIGH 5
·HIGH 8
·HIGH 13
·HIGH 7
·HIGH 4
·HIGH 11
·LOW 0
·LOW 6
·HIGH 1
·PAUSE 1

·HIGH 12
·HIGH 2
·HIGH 3
·HIGH 10
·HIGH 9
·HIGH 5
·HIGH 8
·LOW 13
·LOW 7
·HIGH 4
·HIGH 11
·LOW 0
·LOW 6
·HIGH 1
·PAUSE 1
Return

TheBest
02-08-2007, 11:37 PM
ok that works but now i have to type an a or b several times to see an a or b
how can i program him that he show for 5 second an a and after that 5 seconds an b

greetings me

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I am from HOLLAND!!!!!

sorry for my bad english ;)

T&E Engineer
02-09-2007, 12:25 AM
That is just using a DELAY statement.

TheBest
02-09-2007, 12:48 AM
T&E Engineer said...
That is just using a DELAY statement.

how? do you do that





now i have this



' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}


Letter· VAR Byte

Main:

DEBUG CLS, "Enter a Letter: "
DEBUGIN Letter
IF Letter = "a" THEN LetterA
IF Letter = "b" THEN LetterB
GOTO Main


letterA :
LOW 12
HIGH 13
HIGH 7
HIGH 11
HIGH 0
HIGH 6
LOW 1
PAUSE 1

HIGH 12
LOW 13
LOW 7
LOW 11
LOW 0
LOW 6
PAUSE· 1

LOW 2
LOW 3
LOW 9
HIGH 8
HIGH 1
PAUSE 1

HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 9
LOW 8
LOW 1
PAUSE 1

LOW 5
HIGH 13
HIGH 7
HIGH 11
HIGH 0
HIGH 6
LOW 1
PAUSE 1

HIGH 5

RETURN

letterB :
LOW 12
HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 10
HIGH 9
HIGH 5
HIGH 8
HIGH 13
HIGH 7
HIGH 4
HIGH 11
HIGH 0
HIGH 6
HIGH 1
PAUSE 1

HIGH 12
HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 10
HIGH 9
HIGH 5
LOW 8
LOW 13
LOW 7
LOW 4
LOW 11
LOW 0
LOW 6
LOW 1
PAUSE 1


HIGH 12
LOW 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 10
HIGH 9
HIGH 5
HIGH 8
LOW 13
LOW 7
HIGH 4
HIGH 11
LOW 0
LOW 6
HIGH 1
PAUSE 1

HIGH 12
HIGH 2
LOW 3
LOW 10
HIGH 9
HIGH 5
HIGH 8
LOW 13
LOW 7
HIGH 4
HIGH 11
LOW 0
LOW 6
HIGH 1
PAUSE 1

HIGH 12
HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 10
LOW 9
HIGH 5
HIGH 8
LOW 13
LOW 7
HIGH 4
HIGH 11
LOW 0
LOW 6
HIGH 1
PAUSE 1

HIGH 12
HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 10
HIGH 9
HIGH 5
LOW 8
LOW 13
LOW 7
LOW 4
LOW 11
LOW 0
LOW 6
LOW 1
PAUSE 1

HIGH 12
HIGH 2
HIGH 3
HIGH 10
HIGH 9
LOW 5
LOW 8
HIGH 13
HIGH 7
HIGH 4
HIGH 11
HIGH 0
HIGH 6
LOW 1
PAUSE 1


RETURN





▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I am from HOLLAND!!!!!

sorry for my bad english ;)

Post Edited (TheBest) : 2/8/2007 6:01:45 PM GMT

T&E Engineer
02-09-2007, 05:04 AM
Sorry,

I did not have my computer with the BASIC Stamp Editor software and HELP files when I answered before. You need to use a PAUSE statement not DELAY.

For example if you wanted your program to Pause for·3 seconds then you would enter a command such as:

PAUSE 3000

where 3000 represents 3000 milliseconds which is the same as·3 seconds.



Just put the PAUSE statement before your RETURN statement this way it will pause and keep on the LEDs until it returns back to input the next character.

I have not tried this and YOU need to try this and experiment a little for the correct placement.

You should also go through the HELP file on the BASIC Stamp Editor program.