PDA

View Full Version : Can you connect a computer keyboard to the basic stamp?



Nerd2
12-03-2006, 01:41 AM
Can you connect a computer keyboard to the basic stamp? Use it as a bunch of switches.

Franklin
12-03-2006, 03:20 AM
Not without a circuit in between the two.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
- Stephen

PJ Allen
12-03-2006, 03:55 AM
get this keyboard co-processor, $30 http://www.awce.com/pak6.htm "hack" your keyboard into a bunch of switches (cost: ?) get a Propeller

A.C. fishing
12-03-2006, 07:11 AM
You wouldn't be able to use all your keys and you would have to totally take apart your keyboard.
It could be done to a tiny extent, but what you would end up with wouldn't look like a keyboard!!
If you only need some keys, try using pushbuttons.
-ACfishing

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔



Somebody said...
-Never Underestimate the power of human stupidity.



Roger Pierson
12-03-2006, 01:31 PM
I've run across this by follwing the links found on Tracy Allen's excellent site which can be found here:
www.emesystems.com/BS2links.htm (http://www.emesystems.com/BS2links.htm)

This is the link to a PS/2 to serial converter:
www.awce.com/gp2.htm (http://www.awce.com/gp2.htm)

I saw another product on one of Tracy's links that I can't find again right off hand. It was an IC that converted a PS/2 keyboard into 104 switch inputs. Take a look at his links.

-Roger

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Roger Pierson
Senior Electronics Technicain
DTI Assoicates

TechnoRobbo
12-03-2006, 11:24 PM
Here's a wealth of information:

http://www.beyondlogic.org/keyboard/keybrd.htm

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Have Fun


TR