PDA

View Full Version : 7219 display driver with decimal points?



RottenJalapeno
11-11-2006, 08:19 AM
I·can get the 7219 do display numbers just fine, but for the life of me I cannot get it to put a decimal point on the display.· does anyone know how one would accomplish such a feat?·· http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/yeah.gif

dandreae
11-11-2006, 08:33 AM
If you type in "decimal point and MAX7219" in the Google search located on the Parallax website www.parallax.com (http://www.parallax.com) ·it will come up with Experiment 29, which will show you how to use the decimal point.

Dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Dave Andreae

Parallax Tech Support·

Chris Savage
11-11-2006, 08:36 AM
Hello,
·
·· The code from the following project makes use of the Decimal points for non-decimal point use, but shows how easy it is to turn one on for a value and conditionally.· I hope this helps.· Take care.

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=552892

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support

Mohamed Refky
11-12-2006, 12:23 AM
The decimal point is set by bit D7=1

Maxdisplay:
· FOR index = 5 TO 1
··· SHIFTOUT DATA_n,CLK2,MSBFIRST,[index]
··· temp = dispVal DIG(index-1)
··· IF index <> 4 THEN· skip1
··· temp = temp + 128·············· 'Add decimal point to no 4 (00.000)
skip1:
··· SHIFTOUT DATA_n,CLK2,MSBFIRST,[temp]
··· PULSOUT load,5
· NEXT
RETURN

RottenJalapeno
11-12-2006, 04:51 AM
Hey, thanks for the help guys... I'll give it a shot