PDA

View Full Version : Newbie - Trying not to fry it.



Areal Person
11-09-2006, 04:40 AM
Can I use 1/4 watt 10K ohm resistor instead of 1/8 Watt ? on the 24LC256 EEPROM ? What would be the effect ?

Also, would this work for a power supply for the Propeller ? It's +3.3v
They say you plug it on the breadboard.

cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=006&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&viewitem=&item=160036249360&rd=1&rd=1 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=006&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&viewitem=&item=160036249360&rd=1&rd=1)

There is a +5v one also could you use it for higher voltage components, and use the 3.3 for the chip ?



I'm trying not to fry my chip as I dont know much on what I'm doing. They said not to
cut the ends of the powercord from radioshack, cause it would not work at 4.6v - the current
would be to rough.

Thanks,

Post Edited (Areal Person) : 11/8/2006 9:11:51 PM GMT

Cobalt
11-09-2006, 05:31 AM
Areal Person said...
Can I use 1/4 watt 10K ohm resistor instead of 1/8 Watt ? on the 24LC256 EEPROM ? What would be the effect ?

Yes, you can. There would be no effect. the 1/4 watt just means that it can handle more power going through it, IF it was in a circuit that had more power. For this situation however, the 1/4 is just as fine as the 1/8.


Areal Person said...
Also, would this work for a power supply for the Propeller ? It's +3.3v
They say you plug it on the breadboard.

cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ih=006&sspagename=STRK%3AMEWN%3AIT&viewitem=&item=160036249360&rd=1&rd=1



Yes, you can use that for the propeller, it would be just fine because it says that the power supply uses a 3.3 volt regulator, which would stablize the voltage from the wall wart.


Areal Person said...
There is a +5v one also could you use it for higher voltage components, and use the 3.3 for the chip ?



Yes you can, but just be careful NOT to put the 5v to the propeller. I'm not sure how much you know about electronics, but if you are going to use a 3.3v and 5v power supply to run the propeller and some other things, you have to connect the ground pins from both power supplies to make sure that there is proper communication between anything that uses the 5v to talk to the propeller.

Also, check this out, may save you some time: http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=585920 (this explains how to have the propeller input a 5v signal)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
while alive = 1
wakeup
program(propeller)
eat(3)
sleep(7)

Areal Person
11-09-2006, 05:35 AM
thank you, that saved me allot of trouble !

Paul Sr.
11-09-2006, 09:49 PM
I have been using this for 3.3V on my boards with 5V available - nice little unit with clean power (3.3 OR 5 V).

www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=114 (http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/product_info.php?products_id=114)