PDA

View Full Version : Propstick....soldering questions



cbmeeks
10-30-2006, 08:08 AM
Just received my Propstick the other day and finally got time to solder it together. However when I was checking for solder bridging I found out that pins 9 and 10 for the propeller chip seem to be connected. I can't see where I got solder bridged between the pins. Is this normal? Surely it can't be.

Thanks

cbmeeks

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Coders' Hangout
A place for programmers to hangout!
http://www.codershangout.com

METROID?
Metroid Classic (http://metroidclassic.com)

CJ
10-30-2006, 08:23 AM
vss and BOEn are connected on the propstick, if that is all that seems out of the ordinary, you're all set

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Who says you have to have knowledge to use it?

I've killed a fly with my bare mind.

cbmeeks
10-30-2006, 08:28 AM
thanks. I just found that by, well, READING the manual. lol (or schematic actually)

looks like BOEn and Gnd are connected

one more question though, what pins are needed from the COM port for the IDE/programming, etc.

Thanks again!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Coders' Hangout
A place for programmers to hangout!
http://www.codershangout.com

METROID?
Metroid Classic (http://metroidclassic.com)

CJ
10-30-2006, 08:47 AM
not quite sure why you are asking this, but I do believe 2, 3, 4.

if you have it, just use a straight thru db9 cable, like you would use with an SX-key/blitz or boe/homework board.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Who says you have to have knowledge to use it?

I've killed a fly with my bare mind.

Harley
10-30-2006, 08:52 AM
cbmeeks,

Schematic also shows that, also, on A30,31.

I too have a PropSTICK and am using it temporarily in a two Prop design. Found even though those pins are freed after download, the MAX chip holds the line in a state which prevents actually using that line. Not the fault of the Prop, just that one would need to 'cut' the MAX to Prop trace (which I didn't want to do). So used another pair of pins.

Enjoy your work with the Propeller. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/yeah.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Harley Shanko
h.a.s. designn

cbmeeks
10-30-2006, 08:52 AM
well, that's what I am wondering. I custom made a long cable for programming my SX48 (using the SXKey). I would like to re-use that cable if I could

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Coders' Hangout
A place for programmers to hangout!
http://www.codershangout.com

METROID?
Metroid Classic (http://metroidclassic.com)

CJ
10-30-2006, 09:30 AM
looking at my propstick, the only lines connected are 2, 3, 4, and 5, if you have all those straight thru on your cable, you should be good to go

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Who says you have to have knowledge to use it?

I've killed a fly with my bare mind.

cbmeeks
10-30-2006, 08:32 PM
Thanks. I'll have to check because I can't remember. Anyone remember what pins the SXKey use? I know my cable is straight thru. Oh well, I can just check it tonight. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Coders' Hangout
A place for programmers to hangout!
http://www.codershangout.com

METROID?
Metroid Classic (http://metroidclassic.com)