PDA

View Full Version : TV vs VGA



flapdoodle_dinghy
10-24-2006, 06:43 AM
Which easier on memory; VGA or TV output?

Thanks,
Bill
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/parallax_propeller/

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/parallax_propeller/

flapdoodle_dinghy
10-24-2006, 07:39 AM
Perhaps I should have asked which is easiest on Propeller resources when running.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/parallax_propeller/

ALIBE
10-24-2006, 07:42 AM
actually, from my perspective - both are good questions. I am definitely also interested in knowing this.

in the PC world, obviosuly, process to sending TV signals is lot more process and resources intensive than w/ VGA out. I would suspect it is not different in the prop world. But, I don't know enough to comment in prop world myself.

good questions
:)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
ALIBE - Artificial LIfe BEing. In search of building autonoumous land robot

http://ALIBE.crosscity.com/ (http://ALIBE.crosscity.com/)
http://fstop.crosscity.com/
http://icar.crosscity.com/

Newzed
10-24-2006, 07:45 AM
I am running Mike Green's OS system, which uses VGA. I have 80 columns and 40 rows. With that kind of display, resource or memory usage is of secondary concern. All I worry about is having enough memory to run my programs.

Sid

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Sid Weaver
Don't have VGA?

Newzed@aol.com (mailto:Module?Newzed@aol.com)

Paul Baker
10-24-2006, 07:55 AM
VGA typically requires a little more, but what makes the most difference is whether you are using the text or graphics version.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Paul Baker (mailto:pbaker@parallax.com)
Propeller Applications Engineer
[/url][url=http://www.parallax.com] (http://www.parallax.com)
Parallax, Inc. (http://www.parallax.com)

cbmeeks
10-24-2006, 09:06 PM
There's really no difference. Only in how much data you want to send. Ex: A 320x200 NTSC fully bitmapped is going to take more memory/processing than a 16x16 bitmapped VGA (which is possible).

However, a 640x480 VGA bitmap running from external SRAM takes more than a 16x16 NTSC.

It also depends on if you want to do 1 byte per pixel, 3 bytes per pixel or 8 pixels per byte (monochrome).

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Coders' Hangout
A place for programmers to hangout!
http://www.codershangout.com

METROID?
Metroid Classic (http://metroidclassic.com)