PDA

View Full Version : Servo-4



Somnium
10-08-2006, 04:17 AM
Question about the Servo-4 object. I just downloaded the object for the Servo-4, but can't seem to open it... only gives weird lettering... is there a specific way to open it or is the file corrupt... and if anyone knows where i could get the correct code let me know thanks.

Mike Green
10-08-2006, 04:32 AM
Most of the objects are stored as ZIP files (since the Propeller Tool will make a ZIP archive for you). Make sure you've downloaded that way and that the file has an extension of ".zip".

Somnium
10-08-2006, 08:26 PM
umm... another question... its doesn't mention what kind of setup or schematic it uses... does anyone know where I could get the schematic?

Mike Green
10-08-2006, 09:34 PM
There's no particular schematic. You could look at the Servo32 object for more detail since they work the same. Basically, there are 3 wires that come out of the servo and they're usually color coded with black connected to ground, red connected to the servo positive power supply, and white connected (usually through a resistor .. maybe 470 ohm through 2.2K in value ... not critical) to the Propeller pin you want to use for controlling the servo. The Servo-4 or Servo-32 object is told which pin to use. The Stamps in Class book on Robotics or What's a Microcontroller? both talk about connecting servos to a Stamp, but the same idea applies to the Propeller.

Somnium
10-10-2006, 02:57 AM
if i used a continuous rotation servo... would the Servo-4 program have to be moddified?

Mike Green
10-10-2006, 04:07 AM
No. The pulse width range is the same. Instead of 1.5ms representing center, it's roughly stopped. Widths greater than that cause rotation in one direction. Widths less than that cause rotation the other way. The servo usually needs a little adjustment to stop exactly at 1.5ms (there's an adjustment screwhole).