PDA

View Full Version : USB to serial IC in DIP package



Matt Battle
09-06-2006, 04:22 PM
Hey guys,

I did some searching on the internet last night through Google trying to find some USB to serial IC in DIP package. I found some from Delcom-Eng (http://www.delcom-eng.com/products_USBIO.asp) but was wondering if there is any other ones out there? Thanks.

Regards,
Matt

Paul Baker
09-06-2006, 11:44 PM
Hi Matt, is the reason you are looking for a USB to serial in DIP format is that it is easier to prototype with? Would a dongle work as well?

Parallax sells two different types, the first (http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28030) has a standard serial plug, the second (http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28024) has a 4 pin header. The second type is very easy to use on a bread board, by sticking a four pin header into the board and plugging the dongle onto the header.

If your intent is to provide a USB->Serial interface for a Parallax product, another company's solution may or may not work, Parallax uses some control signals in the serial that some companies do not implement.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Paul Baker (mailto:pbaker@parallax.com)
Propeller Applications Engineer
[/url][url=http://www.parallax.com] (http://www.parallax.com)
Parallax, Inc. (http://www.parallax.com)

Matt Battle
09-07-2006, 12:39 AM
Paul,
Yes, the main reason why I am asking for the IC in DIP package is for prototyping. Once I get a working circuit on the breadboard I will go and buy the SMT packages of everything and make up PCB for them. I wish I could keep all the IC’s that I might be using in DIP package but then the final board might be to big and bulky because of it. The only problem with the dongles is that I will be splicing up a USB cable and having it permanently attached to the PCB. I also don’t know if I will be using a stamp or not for this project. I might be if I can find a useable IC for this.

Regards,
Matt

Chris Savage
09-07-2006, 12:56 AM
Matt,

ˇˇ See Paul's second link above or the link below, which is a smaller version and uses less parts.ˇ I guess my question is what do you mean you have to splice up a USB cable?ˇ Even if your final application won't use a standard USB cable that's no reason not to use the dongles suggested for prototyping.ˇ The circuitry will be the same.ˇ Take care.

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=32201

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

Matt Battle
09-07-2006, 01:20 AM
Chris Savage (Parallax) said...
Matt,

See Paul's second link above or the link below, which is a smaller version and uses less parts. I guess my question is what do you mean you have to splice up a USB cable? Even if your final application won't use a standard USB cable that's no reason not to use the dongles suggested for prototyping. The circuitry will be the same. Take care.

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=32201

Chris,

Let me reword this or try to explain it better. I would like to put my final application inside a box and would like for this box to be as small as possible; one reason why I am going to SMT in the end and why I am using USB. Besides have an USB plug on my application it will have a 6 inch USB cord coming out of the box that plugs directly into the USB port on my computer. I hope that explains what I want to do better. I will post a sketch of the "box" later today.

Regards,
Matt

Chris Savage
09-07-2006, 01:32 AM
Matt,

ˇˇ I understood that part...That is the final project...In the interim though you would normally use the through-hole parts to prototype.ˇ Do you think the links above will do what you need?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

Loopy Byteloose
09-07-2006, 02:38 AM
You can make your own DIP package from SMT parts. Sparkfun.com has boards to do so.ˇ There are other vendors out there, too.ˇ While a bit costly, you do gain the flexibilty of having the chip breadboard exactly as you want it to do so.

I can seeˇyour point because a SMT is often deployed with some pins eliminated and you end up without the ablity to explore all the modes or options. [I had this problem with MCP2515 chips - I could by them premounted and preconfigured, but with limitations that I didn't like or understand]

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"If you want more fiber, eat the package.ˇ Not enough?ˇ Eat the manual."ˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇ


ˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇ Tropical regards,ˇˇˇˇˇ G. Herzog [ˇ黃鶴 ]ˇin Taiwan


Post Edited (Kramer) : 9/6/2006 6:47:56 PM GMT

Matt Battle
09-07-2006, 07:06 AM
Chris Savage (Parallax) said...
Matt,

I understood that part...That is the final project...In the interim though you would normally use the through-hole parts to prototype. Do you think the links above will do what you need?


Yes it will work for what I need to do during the design and testing phase. Is there any more info about it? Datasheet, manual???? Things of that nature? Thanks.

EDIT: Nevermind. I see on the top part of the Prop plug it labels what each pin is. I guess that is smart. Is there still schematics for it ?


Kramer said...
You can make your own DIP package from SMT parts. Sparkfun.com has boards to do so. There are other vendors out there, too. While a bit costly, you do gain the flexibilty of having the chip breadboard exactly as you want it to do so.


Really???? I better stop by their site and see what they got. They might have what I am looking for and then some. Thanks for the link.

Regards,
Matt

Post Edited (Matt Battle) : 9/6/2006 11:12:18 PM GMT

Chris Savage
09-08-2006, 12:05 AM
I believe it is using the circuit right out of the datasheet for the FTDI chip.ˇ Very simple circuit with almost no external parts.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support

Matt Battle
09-08-2006, 03:14 AM
Good afternoon guys,

I plan on using the power coming from the USB port to supply my final application and was wondering if I should use a 5V VR to make sure it’s a constant 5V being supplied to the components. I know I will need a 3.3V VR for the FT232BL I will be using but should I worry about a power spike coming through the 5V line? Has anybody encounter this before? Thanks.

Regards,
Matt

Chris Savage
09-08-2006, 03:52 AM
Matt,

ˇˇ If the power consumption from the 5V circuit is less than 100 mA you shouldn't need a regulator...USB is already regulated at 5V.ˇ As for the FTDI chip, it has it's own internal 3.3V regulator, as well as a pin to dictate the I/O voltage.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support

Matt Battle
09-08-2006, 04:13 AM
Chris Savage (Parallax) said...
Matt,

If the power consumption from the 5V circuit is less than 100 mA you shouldn't need a regulator...USB is already regulated at 5V. As for the FTDI chip, it has it's own internal 3.3V regulator, as well as a pin to dictate the I/O voltage.


Oh okay. I just looked over the blocked diagram for the FT232BL and I am amazed to what is on this chip. I am going to save a lot of space using it. On the same note though I should still use some caps. to clean up the line coming into the circuit? Do you know of an equation that I could use to figure out the size I should use? In the past I always referred to datasheet of the VR I was going to use to tell me what caps I needed. Thanks.

Matt