PDA

View Full Version : Using 5 pins instead of 4 for variables (OutA, InB, or DirsD)



Tavares
05-22-2006, 09:04 AM
In the following code OutA (or InA, DirsB, etc.)·is·used as a single variable to·refer to four·I/O ports (0-3).

How·can I assign a variable (i.e. InA,·OutC, DirsD)·to five·pins using one variable?

Example
ledA···· VAR·· Out(0-4)
or
mon···· VAR·· In[6+7+8+9]
or
direc··· VAR·· dir(0-9)

(I know that the above code won't work. I've already tried it.)http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/roll.gif

Chris Savage
05-22-2006, 11:01 AM
You can use OUTL, which will address 8 pins, and you can ignore the ones you don't want by either making them inputs or by logically ANDing their current value with a bit mask into the output register.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

Tavares
05-22-2006, 06:13 PM
The code is for a key matrix. the original code uses the first four as inputs and the second four as ouputs. I wanted to expand the matrix by one column and row so that it would accomidate 25 push buttons. I'm not an engineer and I'm just learning the ropes of stamp. Are you telling me that the above reply will work considering the code listed below?



Thanks!

' Tracy Allen, http://www.emesystems.com
Scans a 16 key (4x4) matrix keypad using state machine for debouncing, all keys in parallel
The columns are connected to BS2 outputs of port C, P8 to P11
The rows are connected to BS2 inputs of port D, P12 to P15
with pull-up resistors to Vdd=+5 volts.
This routine has two output variables, "keys" and "keyx"
Bits in "keys" go low after the corresponding key is
pressed and debounced.
Bits in "keyx" go high for _one iteration only_ to signal
a high to low transition (button pushed & debounced)
of the corresponding key
In all state variables, each bit corresponds to one key.
One word is used for 16 keys, in a 4x4 array.
This uses a lot of variables, but in many applications it is
possible to reuse most of the variables outside the keyscan loop
Note that the scan can detect key combinations.
The decoding step can miss keys only if they are pressed at
exactly the same instant.



kout var outC ' 4-bit keypad columns, state, if output
kdir var dirC ' 4-bit keypad columns, input or output
kin var inD ' inputs from keypad rows connected to port D
' bit low for key pressed
key0 var word ' state variable, first detection
key1 var word ' state variable, second detection
key2 var word ' state variable, third detection
keyn var key0.nib0 ' address the first detection as nibble array
keys var word ' debounced output, bit low for key pressed
keyz var word ' state variable, previous state of keys
keyx var word ' transition output, bit high one iteration for each press
ix var word ' index for array addressing

dirs=%0000111111111111 ' port D is input, all others output
outs=%0000000000000000 ' start with port C columns output low
' pins P0 to P7 are not used in this program
debug cls ' Clear screen

scanloop:
key2=key1 ' move the debounced states
key1=key0
for ix=0 to 3 ' scan 4 cols by bringing one col at a time low.
kdir = dcd ix ' 0001,0010,0100,1000 in succession
' this makes one column at a time output low
' while the other columns are inputs
keyn(ix)=kin ' read the row inputs into nibbles of key0
next
kdir = %1111 ' make all columns output (avoid floating inputs)
keys=key0&key1&key2|keys ' key bit 0->1 when all 3 are high
keys=key0|key1|key2&keys ' key bit 1->0 when all 3 are low
keyx=keys^keyz & keyz ' detect change 1->0 (active low keypress)
keyz=keys
' optional debug to visualize operation of the state machine
' slows down the operation tremendously
' debug home,bin16 key0,cr,bin16 key1,cr,bin16 key2,cr
' debug bin16 keys,32,bin16 keyx,home
' optional branch to decode keypress, note keyx is transient
if keyx>0 then decode
' pause 30 ' optional delay to slow the scanning
goto scanloop


decode:
code var byte ' code variable
code = ncd keyx-1 ' binary encode the most significant key
lookup code,[10,7,4,1,0,8,5,2,11,9,6,3],code ' translate to code
dtmfout 7,[code] ' send as touchtone
lookup code,["0123456789*#"],code ' --> printable character
debug code ' print on screen
goto scanloop

Chris Savage
05-22-2006, 09:17 PM
No. I thought you needed to input one more line...But·your original post didn't indicate·you actually need two more lines, and the way they would need to work would mean a rewrite of the code.· Perhaps the original author Tracy Allen has an idea?· Tracy?


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)