PDA

View Full Version : BS and RS232 handshaking



waldo
05-15-2006, 11:52 PM
Hi!

I have a very urgent problem. I am using a BS2px to collect temperature data and send it through RS232 to Agilent VEE. I can recieve the message but it is unreliable, errors occur. I am suspecting that my program, VEE, needs a handshake befor exchange of data.

How do i make the BS to use handshake and how does the code look (if needed)?

(the optimal situation would be that Agilent VEE program sends a request for data, and BS sends it afterwards. I have tried this but the message to the program is unreliable without the handshake...)


HELP,

Walter

Chris Savage
05-16-2006, 12:44 AM
Walter,

If you look in the BASIC Stamp Syntax & Reference Manual or in the Editor Help File you will find the information in the SERIN/SEROUT section. There is even example code there.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

stamptrol
05-16-2006, 01:03 AM
Walter,

With the situation you described as optimal ( ie a query and response situation ), there shouldn't be a problem, even without handshaking.

Things to check would include:

Is the Stamp waiting for the Agilent serial string; that is, are you using the WAIT modifier with the serin?

Is there a brief pause before the Stamp starts sending data back?

Are you trying to communicate at too high a speed? Start with 2400 baud and move up from there.

Cheers