PDA

View Full Version : AC Motor Control



SRLA
01-27-2006, 03:29 AM
Hellow, my question. Do I can control (on-off) an "AC" Motor with some special circutry among BS2 and the AC motor?, that is to say,·without using servos. If it is so, what circuitry would be?, thanks!!.

Post Edited By Moderator (Jon Williams (Parallax)) : 1/26/2006 7:36:58 PM GMT

Jon Williams
01-27-2006, 03:39 AM
You can do simple on/off with an appropriately sized solid-state relay (SSR).· Many SSRs have Stamp-compatible control inputs.· We sell a small SSR, for example, that will handle up to 5 amps:

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=400-00010

Now, speed control is a whole different ballgame....

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax

Guido
01-27-2006, 08:51 AM
I believe if you use can even control a motor with an X10, either there appialance module or I think Smarthomes have some heavy duty controllers.

SRLA
01-27-2006, 12:05 PM
Thank you·very much, IŽd like to control an washer motor of 8,6A.

Jon Williams
01-27-2006, 12:15 PM
You'll need a bigger relay then.· You can use a driver circuit like the one I've attached to control a standard relay.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax