PDA

View Full Version : How to connect the LCD Terminal AppMod to BOE



celestino_galan
08-19-2005, 07:30 PM
Please I need to know, how to connect the LCD Terminal AppMod to my Board Of Education abd witch PINs would I have free for other applications.

(I think that the documentation is not good...)

Thank you very much.

Jon Williams
08-19-2005, 08:10 PM
Hmmm.... the LCD AppMod documentation shows that it uses P1-P7, so the rest of the pins (P0, P8-P15) are free. Depending on what your Boe-Bot is doing, you may have to reorganize some of the other IO.

This is one of those times wher you just have to jump in and experiment -- and that's where the real fun is.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax

celestino_galan
08-21-2005, 04:42 PM
tHANK YOU, BUT i MEAN TOO, THE APPMOD TO THE SERIAL CONECTOR OR TO THE SERVOS CONNECTORS...?

Jon Williams
08-21-2005, 11:58 PM
I'm confused ... what product to you have? Our LCD AppMod looks like this:

http://www.parallax.com/images/prod_jpg/29121.jpg

... and our serial LCD looks like this:

http://www.parallax.com/images/prod_jpg/27976.jpg

Which one do you have?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax

celestino_galan
08-22-2005, 05:04 PM
The LCD AppMod , Thanks

Jon Williams
08-22-2005, 08:13 PM
Okay, the LCD AppMod only plugs into one place -- the AppMod connector; that takes care of all the connections to the BASIC Stamp. If you're putting it onto a BOE-Bot, you may have to reorganize some of your other connections.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax

celestino_galan
08-23-2005, 06:45 PM
I know that. But the orientation, I mean...

thanks

Jon Williams
08-23-2005, 08:02 PM
If you look carefully, you'll see there is a mounting hole on the LCD AppMod (near the buttons) -- this gets aligned with a mounting hole on the BOE near the serial connection.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax

Post Edited (Jon Williams (Parallax)) : 8/23/2005 1:03:06 PM GMT

celestino_galan
08-23-2005, 08:35 PM
Oh!, Thank you very much, Jon.

I had a look to the program and, I know that you tell me "...that it uses P1-P7..." it looks like if only pins 1,2,3 are used... I thought it was somothing like a serial communication...

thanks

Jon Williams
08-23-2005, 08:49 PM
The LCD bus uses P4-P7, and is handled as OUTB in the program.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax