PDA

View Full Version : Mag Stripe Card Reader



Max Wooden
08-17-2005, 10:28 AM
Hey guys!
I have been thinking of a project to do with my BASIC OEM 2.
I think I have decided on setting up a mag stripe reader.
This is the one I am thinking about getting: mag stripe (http://www.bgmicro.com/prodinfo.asp?sid=092344907407407467182947&prodid=ACS1080&page=1&cri=mag&stype=3&time_out=44:58)
Does this seem like a possible project? How hard do you think it would be? Let me know.
Thanks,

Max Wooden

knightofoldcode
08-17-2005, 12:34 PM
Max Wooden said...
Hey guys!
I have been thinking of a project to do with my BASIC OEM 2.
I think I have decided on setting up a mag stripe reader.
This is the one I am thinking about getting: mag stripe (http://www.bgmicro.com/prodinfo.asp?sid=092344907407407467182947&prodid=ACS1080&page=1&cri=mag&stype=3&time_out=44:58)
Does this seem like a possible project? How hard do you think it would be? Let me know.
Thanks,

Max Wooden


Out of curiosity, what are you going to use this for? Access Control? If so, I'd suggest the RFID module. I had previously considered Mag Stripe for access control, then found out about RFID, I'm in love.

As for the difficulty in hooking up, probably more than you'd want to mess with. One big reason is that it doesn't have any data for it. They bought up thousands of these for cheap and don't have any data on them. And don't seem to care if someone gives them the data for it (unlike EIO LCD Screens, where they give rewards for people who give them the datasheets to their LCD screens that they can't find the datasheet for).

Knight.

Max Wooden
08-17-2005, 12:45 PM
Thanks for the reply.
I guess I should have said what I was to use it for.
My plan was to just have a simple, if this card is scanned do this (i.e. spin a servo)
The missing datasheets did kind of worry me too.
Anyways thanks for the reply.

Max

knightofoldcode
08-17-2005, 01:40 PM
Max Wooden said...
Thanks for the reply.
I guess I should have said what I was to use it for.
My plan was to just have a simple, if this card is scanned do this (i.e. spin a servo)
The missing datasheets did kind of worry me too.
Anyways thanks for the reply.

Max


I've played with stuff without the datasheet, it's not fun.. :( There is a reason it's so cheap....... The lack of a datasheet is pretty concerning.

My little brother had a toy that had a set of cards, and I don't know what it did with those cards, but it used it to program it's movements, I think. Anyways, the cards had a HUGE barcode that was "swipped" through a slot. Maybe a simple barcode system would do what you're looking for? It'd be cheaper, as you could print up the cards with the barcode on them. As for intergrating this, I dunno....

Just a thought.

Knight.

Max Wooden
08-17-2005, 09:14 PM
Thanks again for the reply.
I may just end up doing another project.
Or maybe I'll get a reader and try, who knows :P

Max

Chris Savage
08-17-2005, 09:47 PM
Hello,

Unfortunately when working with the datasheet you pretty much have to experiment to find out what's going on. I seem to recall a few months ago a thread dealing with possibly this exact reader. If so, I'm not sure what the results were, but I seem to recall him using the SX chip as a solution.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

Max Wooden
08-18-2005, 05:27 AM
Interesting.
Thanks for the reply!

Chris Savage
08-18-2005, 05:31 AM
Max,

I managed to find the thread from before, and this link puts you in the middle of it. I didn't re-read it so I don't remember if the poster found a solution or not. But here ya go!

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=541731



▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

Max Wooden
08-18-2005, 07:02 AM
Man, you are soooo helpful!
It turns out that the SX was the solution.
Too bad, now I have to find another project to do.
Thanks again for the help.

Max