PDA

View Full Version : Sending messages to am LED sign



MrEvans
08-11-2005, 03:40 AM
I'm starting a project to use a stamp module to send strings of data to a LED sign. The stamp will look for input, then on input send a string of data to the LED sign over the serial out, wait 2 minutes, send another string of data, wait 14 minutes, send another string, then loop back and wait for input. The LED sign will accept RS-232 data. It has it's own protocol for the strings.

Has anybody done a project like this?

Is there a project I've missed in the forum?

SPENCE
08-11-2005, 04:18 AM
MR E. IM NOT SHOUTING. I CAN TYPE AND READ ALL CAPS MUCH EASIER THAN LOWERS.

http://www.betabrite.com/Pages/betabrite.htm

COMMERCIAL PRODUCT.

AND SOMONE DID A STAMP INTERFACE FOR THE BETABRITE SOME TIME AGO..

73
SPENCE
K4KEP

Paul Baker
08-11-2005, 04:22 AM
MrEvans,

Your in luck, Jeff (slotcarz) is working on such a project. His thread is here (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=533016).

<edit> Hmm, I seem to have scanned too quickly over your post, you seem to not be seeking to create an LED sign, but interface with one. I appologize. I think this (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=528071) may be the thread SPENCE is refering to.</edit>

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
1+1=10

Post Edited (Paul Baker) : 8/10/2005 9:31:23 PM GMT

southernbob
08-11-2005, 04:38 AM
Try this site. I used this program to get my Beta Brite LED sign working.

It is a very basic program but shows the protocol and displays messages in

several formats. It is a good starting point.

http://homepage.mac.com/tbitson/weather/bsbb10.zip

Bob

Paul Baker
08-11-2005, 04:40 AM
<--- gives himself a mild slap. SPENCE almost always refers to web references. He's likely thinking of

http://www.remote-control.net/software/ledsign/

or

http://homepage.mac.com/tbitson/weather/


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
1+1=10

MrEvans
08-12-2005, 02:42 AM
I found the Tech Memo #99-0005 that shows how to use a plc to switch messages. This works. I download these text messages with alphanet and then can call them up individually. Now I need to reset the timers, as there are two timers I am using to count down with. The string is huge. I have tried using the protocol in the techmemo, but have had no success.

MrEvans
08-12-2005, 02:55 AM
I checked out the remote_control.net BetabriteHelloworld.exe and it works for text but no timers.

I'll check out the tbitson/weather/bsbb10.bs2 tomorrow.

I have a few things to try.