PDA

View Full Version : keyboard to boebot



Jayguy5000
07-31-2005, 07:24 AM
I can hook my keyboard up to the breadboard on my boebot, but is it possible to write a code that would display in ASCII in the debug terminal what key i am pressing?
~Jeremy

Jon Williams
07-31-2005, 07:36 AM
Here's a very simple way:

Main:
DEBUGIN char
DEBUG char
GOTO Main

Make sure that you have PBASIC 2.5 specified in order to use DEBUGIN.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax

Jayguy5000
07-31-2005, 07:41 AM
im sure that makes sense to everyone but me..Im not sure what else to put for the I/O pin and anything else required.

Jon Williams
07-31-2005, 08:28 AM
Sorry, I missed the breadboard thing. DEBUG and DEBUGIN work through the programming port.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax

Jayguy5000
07-31-2005, 08:44 AM
so how much code am i going to have to write to have it display in ASCII what I type on the keyboard? sorry im kinda lost..
~Jeremy

Jon Williams
07-31-2005, 06:22 PM
The problem is the keyboard interface -- it's not trivial. I believe Al Williams has a keyboard decoder chip that works for the Stamp; you may want to check his site. Displaying the ASCII code is pretty simple; getting the code from the keyboard is the tougher part.

http://www.awce.com/pak6.htm

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax

Donald Bartley
08-02-2005, 06:24 AM
There is also the ezKEY from Multilabs www.multilabs.net (http://www.multilabs.net)

It returns ASCII data from a keyboard.