PDA

View Full Version : BS2 and LCD



Billy
07-28-2005, 04:43 PM
Hi everyone

I am a beginner when it comes to Basic Stamp and i try to connect a LCD to the BS2. I have·search the forum and i see, in several examples, that i need >= BS2p

Under my chip it is written "BS2P-IC rev E 1997". But when i send the program to the chip it gives me an error. "Cant find BS2P" It then find "BS2" and send the program. Every thing then seem OK. So i guess my chip is "BS2"

My question is

If i wont to write to my LCD (4x20 standard? Pin- 1=gnd 2=+5v 3 = Drive 4 =RS 5=R/W 6=E 7-14=data 15-16=led), is it possible with my chip ? and how?

I would be really happy for some answers (i dont sleep at night, thinking of this) http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/burger.gif

Thanks

Forrest
07-28-2005, 07:42 PM
It sounds like you have a BS2. You can run a standard parallel Hitachi HD44780 LCD display with a BS2.

You'll find a hookup diagram and a Parallax Basic program to run a parallal LCD in the Stampworks manual starting on page 75. You can download the Stampworks manual here www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=27220

Jon Williams
07-28-2005, 09:54 PM
You can control an LCD module with any BASIC Stamp -- even the BASIC Stamp 1. For the BS2 family, download our StampWorks documentation; it includes three experiments and has code for stock BS2 modules.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax