PDA

View Full Version : sharp GP2D12



stamp_demon
06-09-2005, 09:07 AM
I was wondering if it was possible to use two GP2D12's with one adc0831? Or would each require it's own adc? Thanx again _Duane

Chris Savage
06-09-2005, 11:38 AM
Hello,

You could use a multi-channel ADC. That would allow more than one sensor per ADC chip. But one ADC0831 can't do it without an analog multiplexer or switch.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

stamp_demon
06-09-2005, 11:53 AM
Tahnks Chris. Do you have any recomdations on wich adc I might want to use? Thanks again..

Chris Savage
06-09-2005, 11:58 AM
Hello,

Here's a 2-channel ADC which could work, and has more resolution than the ADC0831...

http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=604-00001

Of course there are more flavors of the ADC0831, I believe the ADC0834? ADC0838? Multi-Channel version of 4 and 8 channels, if memory serves.



▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)