PDA

View Full Version : Access violation error



Weedogt
05-27-2005, 06:52 PM
I have just started up BASIC Stamp Windows Editor v2.2. I have veryfied that I have contact with my BS2sx module (COM1). Connecting to CM" also works fine. So far, so good.

However, when I open the Debug Terminal and try to change the Com Port setting I get an error message;
"Access violation at address 0044BB8C in module "Stampw.exe". Read of adress 00098053".

I get the same error on both COM1 and COM2.

I'm using a Swedish Windows 2000.

Does anyone have any idea about this?

Chris Savage
05-27-2005, 10:09 PM
Hello,

ˇˇ I will forward this information to our applications engineer.ˇˇDoes this only happen when you open a DEBUG Window?ˇ Are you able to program Stamp modules okay?ˇ What happens when the DEBUG Window is opened under program control?ˇ That is, when you put a DEBUG statement into a program:



DEBUG "THIS IS A TEST!"

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

Weedogt
05-28-2005, 12:06 AM
Forum Moderator said...
Does this only happen when you open a DEBUG Window?


As far as I have tried, yes.


Somebody said...
Are you able to program Stamp modules okay?


Yes.


Forum Moderator said...
What happens when the DEBUG Window is opened under program control?


It's not possible as I can't select which COM port to use.

Chris Savage
05-28-2005, 01:11 AM
Weedogt said...(trimmed)
Forum Moderator said...
What happens when the DEBUG Window is opened under program control?
It's not possible as I can't select which COM port to use.
ˇˇ When you place a DEBUG line into your code, it should force a DEBUG window to open within the Stamp Editor software and display the output.ˇ It should default to the port that the Stamp was programmed through, since it uses the program port for communication.ˇ Have you tried the code?


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Tech Support
csavage@parallax.com (mailto:csavage@parallax.com)

Jeff Martin
05-28-2005, 05:43 AM
Hi,

I too, would like to know whether you can get it to work by launching the Debug Terminal as a result of downloading a program that contains a DEBUG statement.

Because you're using the Swedish Windows 2000, I suspect that the problem is due to a regional setting that is confusing the Debug Terminal code.ˇˇ

To try to eliminate some possibilities, I've attached a small program that I'd like you to try.ˇ When you run it you'll see a "COM Port Enumerator" window with a checkbox and a "Get COM Ports" button.ˇ Click on the button and tell me (you can select, copy and paste) what it says in the big white edit field.ˇ Then uncheck the "Display Long Name" checkbox and click the button once again and copy and paste the results.

If this yields strange characters, then it is due to a regional setting and is likely the cause of the problem.ˇ If not, then I know the problem is elsewhere and we'll have to try another test.

Thank you.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
--Jeff Martin

ˇ Sr. Software Engineer
ˇ Parallax, Inc.

Weedogt
05-30-2005, 05:38 AM
Hi Jeff,

I tried to use the DEBUG statment to send a message to the PC. It worked fine.

I also tried the EnumerateCOMPorts_v1.1.exe program:

With "Display Long Name" checked:
Kommunikationsport (COM1)
Kommunikationsport (COM2)

With "Display Long Name" unchecked:
COM1
COM2

After that the initial problem went away! Or maybe things started to work due to the reboot I did today?

Whatever, I'm up and running now.

Thanks for your help. :)

Jeff Martin
06-03-2005, 04:07 AM
Hi,

Glad to hear it is working well.

Thank you for running the tests for us.


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
--Jeff Martin

ˇ Sr. Software Engineer
ˇ Parallax, Inc.