PDA

View Full Version : Changing Stamp com port to communicate with another device



Stuarttttt
05-19-2005, 08:30 PM
Hi, After downloading a programme toaBs2 on com port 1, I would like the programme to be able to communicate using the serial cable with a device on my PC which uses com port 9. How do I do this please ?

Jon Williams
05-19-2005, 09:03 PM
Certainly it's not the same physical port ... what you need to do is move the connection from one port to the other. I was developing a project that had this requirement once and I found that using a serial switch box simplified things.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Jon Williams
Applications Engineer, Parallax
Dallas, TX USA

dandreae
05-19-2005, 10:09 PM
If you are trying to communicate from the BASIC Stamp to the PC on com 1to COM 9 you'll need to a write program (PC software) to send the data between COM 1 and COM 9. This would have to be written in C or Visual Basic.

Dave

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Dave Andreae

Tech Support
dandreae@parallax.com (mailto:dandreae@parallax.com)
www.parallax.com (http://www.parallax.com)