PDA

View Full Version : transister switching



walt
03-05-2005, 05:52 PM
··

···· What type of transister could I use to switch a (5-6) volt motor on· - off·? ·Do I tie the grounds togeather if I use a seperate power source. I want to use an· I/O· from my BS2 BOE BOT· boe rev c .

walt
03-05-2005, 07:13 PM
Sorry forgot he important part , It will about 2 amps.


thanks WALT

KenM
03-05-2005, 11:57 PM
My suggestion is to get an IRL520. (www.glitchbuster.com (http://www.glitchbuster.com))

In your case, the voltage to the motor will not be 12 volts. The ground for the IRL520 and the stamp grounds must be connected.

Also, do you intend to switch the motor on and off rapidly (PWM) for speed control?

If the motor will be switched using PWM, you will likely need a heat sink for the IRL520. The reason is that·during the transistion from ON to OFF and visa versa, the transistor is in the linear region, and will get warm. When the transistor is ON, it will not get hot and the same goes for when the transistor is OFF.

So switching the transistor ON and leaving it on for some time, (and the same for off) no heat sink is required.


Post Edited (KenM) : 3/5/2005 5:06:59 PM GMT

walt
03-06-2005, 02:21 AM
Thank you that is just what I want. The small motor will not be switched rapidly.

walt
03-06-2005, 02:32 AM
Is there a radioshack number for IRL520 . I could use one for a little less then 1 amp.

KenM
03-06-2005, 02:38 AM
No equivalent.

If you think that your motor will use less than one amp, you can go with a different trasistor that radio shack does have.

Not that it is difficult, but then there are more resistors and biasing that much be calculated.

The IRL520 is as close as you can get to "plug & play" for the hobbiest.


walt said...
Is there a radioshack number for IRL520 . I could use one for a little less then 1 amp.