PDA

View Full Version : Unsolved Using Stamps as cost effective industrial sensors and ctrls and integrating to SCADA?

rodrigjp
01-22-2012, 03:05 PM
Hi Everyone,

I am a newcomer to the microchip processing and programming arena and need some advice. I presently contract for a mining entity that are using Allen-Bradley and Rockwell SCADA systems to monitor the plant (crushers, conveyor belts, mills, liquid tanks etc..). The client is not happy with the cost effectiveness of the solution - mostly due to the exhorbitant costs involved in comissioning new functionality and maintaining these systems.

I studied electronics many years ago and in my opinion, feel that some of the simpler machine monitoring functions can be performed by more cost effective solutions (Such as a parallax processor) assuming they can be protected from the environmentals (Which I think is possible). I'm talking about sensing the temp of ball bearing casings to identify heat increases and avoid bearing seizures or a weighing solution to raise an alarm when, for instance, a ball mill is being overloaded.

I am not sure about these microchips ability to integrate to the Allen Bradley and Rockwell system, is it possible. An example would be to have a temp probe on a load bearing that is connected to a parallax cpu and when the temp exceeds a certain value, the CPU would send a alarm to the Allen-Bradley/Rockwell system on the HMI screen for the Operations guy to kick off a problem ticket.

I would like to know more from someone who may have actually done this and appreciate some advice.

Mike Green
01-22-2012, 03:37 PM
Welcome ... Be patient ... several of the forum members work or do consulting in this area (control of large industrial machinery) and frequent the forums. The Stamps have been used for this sort of thing for years

rodrigjp
01-22-2012, 05:11 PM
Hi Mike,

Many thanks and looking forward to it !

kwinn
01-22-2012, 06:40 PM
@rodrigjp,