PDA

View Full Version : Unsolved making a brige program



KeyBoard
01-20-2012, 11:54 AM
helllo all

i am thinking of many projects that could use a brige program to make it more user frendly and better to control for eg like the 16 servo controller brige program to control the servos in real time or like the sayit module program i have pbasic and Borland Delphi 7 coding experices

thanks for any help given

Heater.
01-20-2012, 12:00 PM
What on earth are you talking about, "brige" ?

idbruce
01-20-2012, 01:32 PM
What on earth are you talking about, "brige" ?


Just in case "on earth" is not included: What off earth are you talking about, "brige" ?

mindrobots
01-20-2012, 01:43 PM
Even if you assume it's a type or misspelling of "bridge", it still doesn't make much sense in the context written.

The sad part is that if your GOOGLE "brige" you get a large number of hits and even web sites for xxxxx-BRIGE-xxxx.xxx

Maybe we're all missing something BIG by not having a BRIGE program!

idbruce
01-20-2012, 01:48 PM
It must be an acronym...

B.R.I.G.E.

But what does it mean?

I am open for suggestions :)

EDIT: Sorry for the teasing KeyBoard, but you must clarify this posting for us.

Heater.
01-20-2012, 02:12 PM
mindrobots,

I googled for it before posting as well. Then I realized there are a lot of sites out the that look like dictionaries offering meaning for words like "brige" even including examples of usage. It then became clear that all the examples are taken from typos and misspelling dredged up on the internet. They are just bots auto generating misinformation.

Like this one for example: http://www.wordnik.com/words/brige

It's nuts.

RDL2004
01-20-2012, 02:40 PM
Link to B.R.I.G.E at www.nsf.gov (http://www.nsf.gov/pubs/2011/nsf11576/nsf11576.htm)

I actually think they mean "bridge" as in some kind of control software to connect or "bridge" from a PC to various types of attached hardware.

Heater.
01-20-2012, 02:56 PM
RDL2004,

That would be my guess as well. But what kind of brige, err.. bridge?

Duane Degn
01-20-2012, 03:30 PM
KeyBoard,

Welcome to the forum.

I agree that there are lots of uses where a bridge program would be helpful. Have you used the SayIt's bridge program? The bridge program available from Parallax passes messages from the computer to the SayIt module and back via the Basic Stamp. It's a relatively simple program that mirrors the serial information received on one pin out to a different pin.

I like to use the Propeller chip in my projects so I made a little bridge program (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?120475-Using-the-Say-It-Module-30080-with-the-Propeller-Deal-of-the-Day&p=1008072&viewfull=1#post1008072)for the SayIt using a Prop.

The bridge allows a user to use a program on the PC to interact with the device connected to the microcontroller. This makes programming the SayIt much easier.

Are you thinking of writing a program to control servos from a PC? I'm pretty sure some of the robotics kits use these type of programs to create routines for the robots.

I think there are lots of applications where this type of program would be useful.

I personally like my robots to be independent from the computer but even then, such a program would be useful to preprogram certain actions.

Have you seen the GUI Phil wrote for the Scribbler 2? There is a feature in the program call "Observation Deck" (or something like that). This lets one see on the computer screen what the sensors on the S2 "see". This bridge program looks like you're on the "bridge" of a spaceship.

BTW, You can edit your original post to fix the spelling of the title. The thread's name will then have the corrected spelling. At 48, I'm finally learning how to spell correctly I hope it doesn't take you as long. I for one, don't hear the "d" in bridge very often.

Heater.
01-20-2012, 04:17 PM
Duane Degn

I'm not really very good at defending the crazy logic behind spelling in the English language. But it occurs to me that with out the "d" we have "brig" with an "e" on the end. That "e" is what often changes the pronunciation of the "i" to sound like "eye". As it does with "brin" and brine". So the "d" is very important.

Anyway, enough of this, lets get on with bridge building:)

KeyBoard
01-20-2012, 05:39 PM
Hi

I mean by bridge is a gui interface program for a basic stamp 2 that you can connect to and can insert milling coordinates, or change servo positions in real time bring up a uav control center etc

And to Duane yes I got one for x mas and have use the program

Regards,

doggiedoc
01-20-2012, 05:46 PM
Keyboard, first off let me welcome you to the site! Glad to have you.

Secondly, don't let these guys harass you too much. They're just poking fun and are really very helpful folks once they understand what it is you need help with!

Paul

KeyBoard
01-20-2012, 05:52 PM
Thanks

I should learn to spell though

Regards

stamptrol
01-20-2012, 06:41 PM
Keyboard,

You're always welcome to use this free operator interface and sample Stamp code. http://www.siskconsult.com/page7.html

You can also see it in operation at: http://youtu.be/JvG6TBVrh8c

Cheers,

KeyBoard
01-22-2012, 10:24 AM
Hello

thank you for the software stamptrol itís a step to what I what to achieve as I want make the software and custom is it to my needs for the project may I ask what programming language you use to make it

regards

stamptrol
01-22-2012, 01:28 PM
The interface code was written in VB by Unsoundcode for me to use with teaching an industrial control course. I wanted a standard interface that the Stamp programs could easily interface with.

Unsoundcode is on the forums so he will probably be available to answer specific questions.

Cheers,

KeyBoard
01-22-2012, 06:08 PM
Thank you for your help I will search the net for vb and help coding my project

Regards,
Keyboard