PDA

View Full Version : Propeller Tool Bug?



Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)
05-21-2010, 02:52 AM
Here's an odd one:

http://forums.parallax.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=70507

Shouldn't the object in the tabs have been found?

-Phil

John Abshier
05-21-2010, 03:51 AM
I think I have had the same error also. Cannot remember what I did to correct.

John Abshier

Patrick1ab
05-21-2010, 03:56 AM
Maybe we should collect them and write a list.
I've got another one:

If you save a binary file after compiling a spin file, you won't be able to chose "save as spin" anymore.
You have to restart the tool to make it work again.

Bobb Fwed
05-21-2010, 06:10 AM
I get that error when I am working on a file that I haven't saved, or the file is saved in a different location than the object I am working with. Why propeller tool doesn't allow objects to be in subdirectories or allow full paths, I will never know. All my files are all in the same place. Makes for a busy directory.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
April, 2008: when I discovered the answers to all my micro-computational-botherations!

Some of my objects:
MCP3X0X ADC Driver (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/488/) - Programmable Schmitt inputs, frequency reading, and more!
Simple Propeller-based Database (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/493/) - Making life easier and more readable for all your EEPROM storage needs.
String Manipulation Library (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/543/) - Don't allow strings to be the bane of the Propeller, bend them to your will!
Fast Inter-Propeller Comm (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/546/) - Fast communication between two propellers (1.37MB/s @100MHz)!

jazzed
05-21-2010, 07:00 AM
I get that error when I try to build something that's part of a .zip package which I assumed is somehow "special" ... in a similar directory as you have shown. Is it really a bug? Maybe.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
May the road rise to meet you; may the sun shine on your back.
May you create something useful, even if it's just a hack.

kuroneko
05-21-2010, 09:16 AM
Patrick1ab said...
If you save a binary file after compiling a spin file, you won't be able to chose "save as spin" anymore.
You have to restart the tool to make it work again.

Just type in the full name (i.e. fred.spin), no need to restart the whole IDE. But yes, it's confusing.

Microcontrolled
05-21-2010, 09:35 AM
I've had this problem multiple times. Moving the file from the temporary folder to the Propeller library fixes it for me.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Check out my new website!! (http://microcontrolled.propmodule.com/home.html)

Use the Propeller icon!! http://www.proptools.org/images/Propeller.gif

Follow me on Twitter! Search "Microcontrolled"

Timothy D. Swieter
05-21-2010, 09:47 AM
I've also seen this problem, though I don't recall the setup I was using such as a file from a temp folder or zip file.

Doing some forum searches brings up some items that I posted before on improvements or errors.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Timothy D. Swieter, E.I.
www.brilldea.com (http://www.brilldea.com) - Prop Blade, LED Painter, RGB LEDs, 3.0" 16:9 LCD Composite video display, eProto for SunSPOT, PropNET, PolkaDOT-51
www.tdswieter.com (http://www.tdswieter.com)

kuroneko
05-21-2010, 10:40 AM
Incidentally, is there a working example where a tab file can actually be referenced? I got the impression that compilation only ever works with library references and files in the same directory. The latter only if the file you're working on has been saved there.

Bobb Fwed
05-21-2010, 11:42 AM
kuroneko said...
Incidentally, is there a working example where a tab file can actually be referenced? I got the impression that compilation only ever works with library references and files in the same directory. The latter only if the file you're working on has been saved there.

Well I think what people may be used to is that if you open a file (in the correct working directory) it will first reference the [unsaved] file in the tab before it goes after the saved file in the same working directory. If it isn't found in the working directory it then goes and checks the library folder.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
April, 2008: when I discovered the answers to all my micro-computational-botherations!

Some of my objects:
MCP3X0X ADC Driver (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/488/) - Programmable Schmitt inputs, frequency reading, and more!
Simple Propeller-based Database (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/493/) - Making life easier and more readable for all your EEPROM storage needs.
String Manipulation Library (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/543/) - Don't allow strings to be the bane of the Propeller, bend them to your will!
Fast Inter-Propeller Comm (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/546/) - Fast communication between two propellers (1.37MB/s @100MHz)!

zoopydogsit
05-21-2010, 04:32 PM
I've seen it a few times. This usually occurs if the file is in an Zip file and not in a directory. Either unzip it to your local directory or create a master objects directory.

QuattroRS4
05-21-2010, 04:49 PM
I have had it happen. Some times when I try to program either F10 of F11 - press ok and try it again and it works .. Op Sys XP SP3

Regards,
John Twomey

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
'Necessity is the mother of invention'

'Those who can, do.Those who can’t, teach.'
'Convince a man against his will, he's of the same opinion still.'