PDA

View Full Version : Object for using the memory of a second connected propeller?



Oldbitcollector (Jeff)
05-20-2010, 10:33 PM
Someone a while back posted an object for using the memory of a second, connected Propeller.
I can't seem to lay my hands on it. Does anyone have a bookmark to the link?

I'm working on a project which involves two Propellers stacked one on another, the second Propeller
only there as extra memory and cogs.

Thanks!

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Are you Propeller Powered? PropellerPowered.com (http://www.propellerpowered.com)
Visit the: PROPELLERPOWERED SIG forum (http://www.savagecircuits.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?29-Propeller-Powered) kindly hosted by Savage Circuits (http://www.savagecircuits.com).

KPR
05-20-2010, 10:39 PM
Sound sweet OBC.. how are you getteing access to the other cogs?? Got Pictures?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I always have someone watching my back.

Oldbitcollector (Jeff)
05-21-2010, 09:35 PM
KPR said...
Sound sweet OBC.. how are you getteing access to the other cogs?? Got Pictures?


No pics yet, but basically using FullDuplexSerial to do communication.

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Are you Propeller Powered? PropellerPowered.com (http://www.propellerpowered.com)
Visit the: PROPELLERPOWERED SIG forum (http://www.savagecircuits.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?29-Propeller-Powered) kindly hosted by Savage Circuits (http://www.savagecircuits.com).

Beau Schwabe
05-21-2010, 09:58 PM
Oldbitcollector,

The high speed Prop to Prop communication was put together as a building block with your exact intention in mind.
In a sense when you are sending the data, you are defining the location of memory from one Propeller and how big it is that you want to send to another Propeller.

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=691952

...With a little bit of handshaking you could make this bi-directional. The only caveat, is that you need to make sure the receiver is running before the transmitter.

Also, I believe there is a faster version of Prop to Prop communication recently released (within the last month or two) ... from Bill Henning maybe? I'm not sure.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Beau Schwabe (mailto:bschwabe@parallax.com)

IC Layout Engineer
Parallax, Inc.

ErNa
05-22-2010, 05:06 AM
Yes, that is exactly, what I'm also interested in. I made a PropCore board, that can be stacked, has crystal on board or not, has flash on board or not, has I/O or not, has 3.3V ldo or not, so quit universal. It fits to a protoboard. Now I also face the problem to have a more or less comfortable solution to distribute the load

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
cmapspublic3.ihmc.us:80/servlet/SBReadResourceServlet?rid=1181572927203_421963583_ 5511&partName=htmltext (http://cmapspublic3.ihmc.us:80/servlet/SBReadResourceServlet?rid=1181572927203_421963583_ 5511&partName=htmltext)
Hello Rest Of The World
Hello Debris
Install a propeller and blow them away http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/wink.gif

heater
05-22-2010, 06:39 AM
PRAM - Prop as RAM

I had a long think about this when I wanted more memory for Z80 simulation. I was contemplating two or more Props connected to a master Prop with an 8 bit parallel bus and some control lines. There was some discussion about it here which I'm sure I'll never find again. I think Mike Green convinced be it would be hard to get speed out of it and then the whole idea was dropped when the TriBlade, RamBlade and DracBlade arrived.

I still think the idea has merit as not only do you get access to some extra RAM from the slave Props but you get access to their pins and COGs as peripherals. The pins you lose driving the bus are made up for by the "remote" devices.

Add Bill's Virtual Memory in there and one might ge the performance back for emulation or ZOG or XMM type code.

Otherwise why not just use SPI RAM as Bill is doing?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
For me, the past is not over yet.