PDA

View Full Version : Futaba Servo Help



NWCCTV
03-21-2010, 06:56 AM
Does anyone know if the settings for running a Futaba FP-S148 servo are the same as the standard Parallax servo's when running the sample programs in the WAM manual?

Beau Schwabe
03-21-2010, 08:13 AM
NWCCTV,

The code should be the same... what you will need to pay attention to is the particular BS2 you are using, as that might have a different time base that you will need to adjust.

See PULSOUT in the Stamp IDE software for these timing differences.

A BS2, BS2e, and BS2pe each have a 2us pulse unit duration which means that a 1500us(<-- Center servo position) would have a value of 750 where as a BS2sx, BS2p, and BS2px each have a 0.8us pulse unit duration. This means that to send a 1500us pulse, the PULSOUT value needs to be 1875.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Beau Schwabe (mailto:bschwabe@parallax.com)

IC Layout Engineer
Parallax, Inc.

NWCCTV
03-21-2010, 08:54 AM
Yes, I am aware of that. I have a BS2 and a BS2SX with seperate programs for each. I just wanted to make sure the settings etc, were the same. So 750 on the BS2 should be stopped, correct?

Franklin
03-21-2010, 08:59 AM
On a standard servo there is no "stopped" Where ever you set it, it will go there and stop. 750 would be close to the middle of its travel.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
- Stephen

W9GFO
03-21-2010, 01:09 PM
Futaba considers 1.520 mS to be the center value for their servos, which would be 760 for a BS2.

Rich H

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
The Simple Servo Tester, a kit from Gadget Gangster. (http://www.gadgetgangster.com/206)