PDA

View Full Version : RS-232 output on a MoBo



servomaker
03-14-2010, 11:55 AM
I am having problems going from a Basic Stamp 2 to a Basic Stamp 2pe MoBo. I have an RS-232 interface to a linear actuator made by Zaber that I breadboarded that works just fine with the Basic Stamp 2 on a professional development board. The RS-232 transmits and receives fine with the actuator. When I attach it to the MoBo, with all the pins redesignated properly, I get a great RS232 output (-10 to +8.2V) output to the actuator, but it doesn't pick up the signal. I have checked the grounding, and it seems fine. Any tricks?

stamptrol
03-14-2010, 07:40 PM
You will likely have to change the baud parameter for the SERIN and SEROUT commands. (along with any timing sensitive commands)

Look at SERIN and SEROUT in the helpfile for the editor.

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com

servomaker
03-14-2010, 10:25 PM
Thanks, Tom, that made it work.
I visited your website and it looks like you are doing some interesting things. I'm sure I'll be in touch with you in the future on other projects!
Greg