PDA

View Full Version : PS/2 working with BS2?



logan996
03-08-2010, 08:48 AM
Hi, i long ago took apart a old device that let's you have a vga screen and have mutiple computer to switch the screen to. It was old so i took it apart for the nice enclosure, but i always kept the PS/2 plugs and vga plugs, now i realize i could use them! i was wondering that if i used the right resistors if i could unterface a PS/2 style keyboard with the BS2. Does anyone know if that would be possible? and if so could they help me a bit to get started?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"When the government is afraid of the people there is liberty, when the people are afraid of the government, there is tryanny"

Thomas Jefferson

Mike Green
03-08-2010, 10:26 AM
You can't interface directly to a PS/2 style keyboard using a Stamp. You could do it with some external logic or an external small microcontroller like a 6 or 8 pin PIC. Multilabs used to make something like that called an ezKey, but they've closed up shop.

logan996
03-08-2010, 10:30 AM
what do you program PIC's in?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"When the government is afraid of the people there is liberty, when the people are afraid of the government, there is tryanny"

Thomas Jefferson

logan996
03-08-2010, 10:33 AM
and if i made a PIC converter item would a keyboard then work with a bs2? and how about a mouse could i make a converter for that too?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"When the government is afraid of the people there is liberty, when the people are afraid of the government, there is tryanny"

Thomas Jefferson

Mike Green
03-08-2010, 10:42 AM
Yes, you could make a PS/2 to something else converter for a keyboard and a similar converter for a mouse. Do a web search for things like "PS/2 keyboard converter" and "PS/2 mouse converter" and explore what's been done. You'll at least get detailed descriptions of how PS/2 devices work.

logan996
03-08-2010, 10:45 AM
ok, thank you, and real quick what do you program PIC's in?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"When the government is afraid of the people there is liberty, when the people are afraid of the government, there is tryanny"

Thomas Jefferson

Desy2820
03-08-2010, 12:14 PM
As far as the PIC goes, there are two parts to the answer:

You write your code in MPLAB, which is free. http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en019469&part=SW007002

Then you program the PIC with something like a PICKIT2 or PICKIT3, which is not free. http://www.microchip.com/stellent/idcplg?IdcService=SS_GET_PAGE&nodeId=1406&dDocName=en538340

Depending on your goals and experience level, you may also want to consider the Parallax Propeller. It can interface to a PS/2 style keyboard and mouse, just requiring some resistors and software. The learning curve is much steeper than the Stamp's, but may be more suited to your long-term goals. http://www.parallax.com/tabid/407/Default.aspx

Hope this helped.

logan996
03-09-2010, 04:10 AM
yes, i have the Propstick Beginers Kit, (b-day present) but i have read some of the book and i'm having trouble with it so im useing the BS2 for now, and what is the PIC PICKIT 2 and 3 programing languges like?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"When the government is afraid of the people there is liberty, when the people are afraid of the government, there is tryanny"

Thomas Jefferson

Desy2820
03-09-2010, 10:10 AM
The programming language doesn't change, you can still use MPLAB.

Unfortunately, I don't have any hands-on experience with PICs. I was so confused by the different chips, registers, and configuration--I just had no desire to mess with them.

Another popular option seems to be the Arduino. (I think the most current one is the Duemilanove). Again, I haven't used this chip, but it seems fairly well supported. http://www.arduino.cc/

--Glenn