PDA

View Full Version : Using Basic Stamp for industrial



Joe
03-06-2010, 03:02 AM
Hi,

I would like to know if the Basic Stamp module BS2-IC is
a better solution instead the Basic Stamp 2 OEM for industrial and why.

What about electronic noise or something like that?

Do you know something ?

Thanks, Joe
PS: Any certificate available?

stamptrol
03-06-2010, 03:47 AM
Both will work fine in an industrial situation, although the BS2-IC is available in an industrial temperature range, which could be a consideration.

As with any microcontroller, it will be you as the designer who has to deal things like the physical protection of the device, providing a suitable power supply and protecting the inputs and outputs from over and under voltage and dealing with the current required by the loads. You will also be responsible for having the equipment safety certified for many applications.

Having said all that, I've got Stamp projects running in industrial plants ranging from pulp mills and sawmills to sewage treatment plants and outdoor truck scales to fuel delivery trucks and tree harvesters. Many have been running for over ten years.

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com
·

Chris Savage
03-07-2010, 04:22 AM
Joe,

If you haven't already, please see the following new Parallac product, designed to allow any microcontroller to have an Industrial-Type control interface. Best Regards.

http://www.parallax.com/Store/Accessories/Other/tabid/167/ProductID/658/List/0/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName,ProductName

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage

Parallax Engineering
·

Kevin Wood
03-07-2010, 02:08 PM
With the 24-pin Stamp modules, you also have the option of using the Stamp-PLC.

www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/BASICStampDevelopmentBoards/tabid/137/CategoryID/12/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/290/Default.aspx (http://www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/BASICStampDevelopmentBoards/tabid/137/CategoryID/12/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/290/Default.aspx)

Joe
03-09-2010, 10:10 AM
Hi,

I read your recomendations, thanks.

I have used the BS2-OEM and some times the rutine stops.
I have to turn the power off and on the Stamp to continue.


Now , I am using the Parallax IR sensor (code 350-00014 ) from Parallax as
an input and the outputs
are two relays with diodes and very opto insolated. ( I added capacitors too )

The power supply is 12 volts ( it is a good electronic regulated powe supply )
( Of course the wave of this power supplies is square and not sine curve)

The place where the Basic Stamp OEM is working has electronic noise.
Some times there is a welder machine working. An always there is a big
motor at 2 feet.

At home the Basic Stamp 2OEM works very good.

Thanks, Joe

sam_sam_sam
03-09-2010, 10:43 AM
What type of enclosure do you have the Basic Stamp in

The welders may be giving your IR sensor a fit.....>>>··That just a thought

I would take out the parts of the code that the IR sensor is doing and see if it still is locking up



I have used the BS2-OEM and some times the rutine stops.
I have to turn the power off and on the Stamp to continue.

What type of routine are you doing

Have put DEBUG statements in your routines to see where it is stopping


▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
··Thanks for any·http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/idea.gif·that you may have and all of your time finding them http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

·
·
·
·
Sam

Post Edited (sam_sam_sam) : 3/9/2010 2:51:49 AM GMT