PDA

View Full Version : Using H-bridge circuits with BSII Question



Jimbo30
02-26-2010, 07:24 AM
If one would have multiple H-bridge circuits consisting of Forward, Reverse & Enable pins,·would it be a no no to use the same BSII pin for "Enable" to control speed of·2 motors at the same time?·

Mike Green
02-26-2010, 07:31 AM
There's no electrical reason not to use one I/O pin for two "Enable" signals. Does it do what you want? Both motors would be activated at the same time and you couldn't use PWM to adjust the speed of each motor separately, but you could adjust the speed of both motors. Remember that motors are not identical and that providing the same PWM signal to two motors doesn't necessarily result in the same speed for both motors.

Jimbo30
02-26-2010, 07:50 AM
Mike--that thought crossed my mind about "not two motors are created equal"·because I have seen it occur in the past.· I haven't gone as far as testing the H-bridges with BSII yet because I am still waiting for components.· However, I have connected a battery, applying the same voltage·to each motor to test and there is a slight difference in·speed that I can hear.·http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/freaked.gif····················· ·I can see away around it, though.·