PDA

View Full Version : using BS2 with the eTape



Matt180
01-31-2010, 01:13 AM
Is there any way to make the stamp read the ohms of the eTape kind of how the ping sensor can read distance. Im at a loss for ideas here any help would be wonderful. thanks

erco
01-31-2010, 01:28 AM
OK, I'll take the bait. What's eTape?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
"If you build it, they will come."

kf4ixm
01-31-2010, 01:40 AM
@erco
i believe he's talking about this...

http://www.parallax.com/Store/Sensors/PressureFlexRPM/tabid/177/CategoryID/52/List/0/Level/a/ProductID/590/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName%2cProductName

@matt
you can use RCTIME with the eTape and a 0.1mf cap as detailed in the sample code and documentation found in the above link.

Franklin
01-31-2010, 02:48 AM
Matt if you go to the etape page listed above and download the eTape Liquid Level Sensor Example Code (.zip) there are EXAMPLES in there (go figure)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
- Stephen

Matt180
01-31-2010, 03:21 AM
what i am trying to do with it is keep the water level in a tank between 2 levels. I am just not sure what would be the easiest right now to do it with RCTIME or voltage divider. all i want to be able to do is compare the current value on the sensor to the lower bound where the pump kicks on and the upper bound where the pump turns off and waits for the level to drop back down.


what i was asking before now that I look at it that was kinda a dumb way to ask it is if the stamp can just measure resistance straight up without using RCTIME

kf4ixm
01-31-2010, 03:51 AM
no, the bs2 only utilizes digital i/o, it will not read or output analog signals directly. you will have to use either the RCTIME or an external analog to digital chip.