PDA

View Full Version : Why wouldn't my prop demo board be recognized?



turbosupra
12-27-2009, 04:47 AM
I bought one of these and the prop IDE and 12blocks is not recognizing it, any idea why?

I can see it cycles it's mini LED's when I plug in the USB portion? It has a green light illuminated and is getting 9v?

Any ideas?

http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Images/Prod/3/321/32100-M.jpg

potatohead
12-27-2009, 05:01 AM
Try a different cable.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Propeller Wiki: Share the coolness! (http://propeller.wikispaces.com/)
8x8 color 80 Column NTSC Text Object (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/550/)
Safety Tip: Life is as good as YOU think it is!

turbosupra
12-27-2009, 05:34 AM
Not quite the same thing, but I believe it suffices

I'm using the cable that connects to my prop breadboard, and it is working with that?s




potatohead said...
Try a different cable.

hover1
12-27-2009, 05:47 AM
What's not the same thing? You would be using the same cable as you would use with a ProtoBoard or a PropPlug.

What version PropTool IDE are you using?

The demo board has a FDTI chip that may be wanting to use another Com port. You may have to reset it in Preferences in the PropTool.


turbosupra said...
Not quite the same thing, but I believe it suffices

I'm using the cable that connects to my prop breadboard, and it is working with that?s




potatohead said...
Try a different cable.

Mike Green
12-27-2009, 05:49 AM
The Propeller Tool and 12Blocks should recognize a Demo Board just like they recognize the Protoboard. As far as they're concerned, the two Propeller boards look the same. As with any "can't identify" problem, the issues are:

1) No power to the board or inadequate power

2) No communications. Could be the USB cable. Could be the USB I/O driver. Try a new cable. Try reinstalling the Propeller Tool. hover1 may be right if you still have your other board connected to your PC. The Propeller Tool (and 12Blocks) can switch among several connected Propellers. Check which COM port it's using.

Lastly and very rarely ...

3) The board could be broken. This is very unusual, but can happen. First try to fix #1 and #2.

turbosupra
12-27-2009, 05:49 AM
Not quite the same thing as I did the inverse of what they asked


I have version 1.2.6 of the propeller IDE




hover1 said...
What's not the same thing? You would be using the same cable as you would use with a ProtoBoard or a PropPlug.

What version PropTool IDE are you using?

The demo board has a FDTI chip that may be wanting to use another Com port. You may have to reset it in Preferences in the PropTool.




turbosupra said...

Not quite the same thing, but I believe it suffices

I'm using the cable that connects to my prop breadboard, and it is working with that?s






potatohead said...

Try a different cable.

hover1
12-27-2009, 05:59 AM
Not sure what you mean about "inverse of what they asked" Who and what did they tell you to do? Just trying to help.
I had an issue like this a year ago, and I fixed it by uninstalling the old prop tool AND USB drivers, and then reloading the PropTool AND the USB drivers that came with it. Would suggest upgrading to PropTool 1.2.7.

Jim


turbosupra said...
Not quite the same thing as I did the inverse of what they asked


I have version 1.2.6 of the propeller IDE

turbosupra
12-27-2009, 01:58 PM
You're the man Mike!

My power cable that I borrowed from the answering machine, was not playing nice with the demo board for some reason? It said 9vdc?


Anyway, in case anyone finds this in a search, the prop demo board wants a positive tip. If I get a chance, I put the tip size in my micrometer and post that as well







Mike Green said...
The Propeller Tool and 12Blocks should recognize a Demo Board just like they recognize the Protoboard. As far as they're concerned, the two Propeller boards look the same. As with any "can't identify" problem, the issues are:

1) No power to the board or inadequate power

2) No communications. Could be the USB cable. Could be the USB I/O driver. Try a new cable. Try reinstalling the Propeller Tool. hover1 may be right if you still have your other board connected to your PC. The Propeller Tool (and 12Blocks) can switch among several connected Propellers. Check which COM port it's using.

Lastly and very rarely ...

3) The board could be broken. This is very unusual, but can happen. First try to fix #1 and #2.

turbosupra
12-27-2009, 02:00 PM
Sorry, that may have came across as cryptic.

Potatohead said to try a different cable, but I did the inverse of that and tried my prop breadboard instead of the demo board on the same usb cable.





hover1 said...
Not sure what you mean about "inverse of what they asked" Who and what did they tell you to do? Just trying to help.
I had an issue like this a year ago, and I fixed it by uninstalling the old prop tool AND USB drivers, and then reloading the PropTool AND the USB drivers that came with it. Would suggest upgrading to PropTool 1.2.7.

Jim


turbosupra said...

Not quite the same thing as I did the inverse of what they asked


I have version 1.2.6 of the propeller IDE

hover1
12-27-2009, 11:47 PM
No need to measure. size: O.D.: 5.5mm, I.D.: 2.1mm. Positive tip
You can use the Radio Shack "M" plug with some of their multi-voltage supplies.
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3807939
I just bought seven 6volt 1800ma supplies for $2.97 each! Part number 273-1763. And a free Adaptaplug to boot! You can't buy the on-line anymore, just what's left in store stock. Think I got all that was left in Tennessee and Alabama.
Jim

turbosupra said...



Anyway, in case anyone finds this in a search, the prop demo board wants a positive tip. If I get a chance, I put the tip size in my micrometer and post that as well

turbosupra
12-28-2009, 12:18 AM
Haha sweet, I'm going to have to search for that catalog number and see if there are any in MD




hover1 said...
No need to measure. size: O.D.: 5.5mm, I.D.: 2.1mm. Positive tip
You can use the Radio Shack "M" plug with some of their multi-voltage supplies.
http://www.radioshack.com/product/index.jsp?productId=3807939
I just bought seven 6volt 1800ma supplies for $2.97 each! Part number 273-1763. And a free Adaptaplug to boot! You can't buy the on-line anymore, just what's left in store stock. Think I got all that was left in Tennessee and Alabama.
Jim

turbosupra said...




Anyway, in case anyone finds this in a search, the prop demo board wants a positive tip. If I get a chance, I put the tip size in my micrometer and post that as well

ElectricAye
12-28-2009, 12:46 AM
turbosupra said...
Haha sweet, I'm going to have to search for that catalog number and see if there are any in MD....



If you're anywhere near the northern Baltimore area, there are these guys:

www.baynesvilleelectronics.com/index2.ivnu (http://www.baynesvilleelectronics.com/index2.ivnu)

Unlike your standard Radio Schlock, they have people there that can sometimes answer real questions with experience and aplomb.

Cluso99
12-28-2009, 01:13 AM
BTW It is centre positive (tip is not correct on this style of connector). There are also 2.5mm dia pins which are more common in Australia. The prop uses 2.1mm and if you use a 2.5mm plug it will fit but possibly make a poor connection.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Links to other interesting threads:

· Home of the MultiBladeProps: TriBlade (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=786418),·RamBlade (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=849265),·SixBlade (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=780033), website (http://bluemagic.biz/cluso.htm)
· Single Board Computer:·3 Propeller ICs·and a·TriBladeProp board (ZiCog Z80 Emulator) (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=790917)
· Prop Tools under Development or Completed (Index) (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=753439)
· Emulators: CPUs Z80 etc; Micros Altair etc;· Terminals·VT100 etc; (Index) (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=778427) ZiCog (Z80) (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=788511) , MoCog (6809) (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=811043)
· Search the Propeller forums (http://search.parallax.com/search?site=parallax&client=parallax&output=xml_no_dtd&proxystylesheet=parallax&proxycustom=<HOME/>&ie=&oe=&lr=)·(uses advanced Google search)
My cruising website is: ·www.bluemagic.biz (http://www.bluemagic.biz)·· MultiBladeProp is: www.bluemagic.biz/cluso.htm (http://www.bluemagic.biz/cluso.htm)

kf4ixm
12-28-2009, 01:22 AM
its as close as your local wal-mart, go to the electronics dept. and look for the poweline universal ac adapter. its a switchable voltage 3-12vdc 1300ma power supply that comes with a set of 7-8 barrel adapters. thats what i've used with the boe with no problems at all on 7.5 volts. i think it's like $10-$12. i couldn't find it on the walmart website, but i've seen them at like every one i've ever been to. it's a powerline brand, model # 0900-77

Post Edited (kf4ixm) : 12/27/2009 6:33:01 PM GMT

turbosupra
12-28-2009, 08:05 AM
That's what I bought :)

The 600mA is $14 and the 1300mA is $18



kf4ixm said...
its as close as your local wal-mart, go to the electronics dept. and look for the poweline universal ac adapter. its a switchable voltage 3-12vdc 1300ma power supply that comes with a set of 7-8 barrel adapters. thats what i've used with the boe with no problems at all on 7.5 volts. i think it's like $10-$12. i couldn't find it on the walmart website, but i've seen them at like every one i've ever been to. it's a powerline brand, model # 0900-77

potatohead
12-28-2009, 02:47 PM
I'm wondering why people will buy these new.

Do you have thrifty, second hand, good will type stores near by? If so, they have tons of these things with every imaginable connector type, output voltage, AC, DC, you name it.

$5 will probably get you a couple, and worst case is having to cut 'n splice the right connector onto the right power supply.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Propeller Wiki: Share the coolness! (http://propeller.wikispaces.com/)
8x8 color 80 Column NTSC Text Object (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/550/)
Safety Tip: Life is as good as YOU think it is!

hover1
12-28-2009, 09:28 PM
I have about 30 "repurposed" adapters that I use on a daily basis, but I·do·buy new when the project is going to a customer.

Jim

·
potatohead said...
I'm wondering why people will buy these new.

Do you have thrifty, second hand, good will type stores near by? If so, they have tons of these things with every imaginable connector type, output voltage, AC, DC, you name it.

$5 will probably get you a couple, and worst case is having to cut 'n splice the right connector onto the right power supply.