PDA

View Full Version : Auto recovery problem



LTAYLO91
12-26-2009, 03:53 AM
Ive been working on a program in spin for weeks.· Ive been saving as I go,·and I have·left the propeller tool open and my computer on.·
Yesterday I saved my progress and closed the prop tool, then powered down my computer.· Today, I try opening my project and find that
its been "AUTO RECOVERED".· Its an earlier version from wen I first started.· Is there any way to get the latest version back.http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/mad.gif

ElectricAye
12-26-2009, 07:40 AM
I have no idea how to help you, but it seems to me that the Auto Recovery feature should create merely a temporary file and not overwrite your actual working files. So I would not panic until some of the more knowledgeable people on this forum get over Christmas and get back to answering questions here. If there's a solution, they will find it.

One feeble suggestion of my own: If you saved your previous work in a folder, I would go directly to that folder and load up the spin file from that folder and not use the Propeller's menu that displays the last ~10 files you worked on. I'm just guessing what you're now seeing is some kind of temporary file that the Auto Recovery feature is pushing to the front of the line for you to look at so it can be patted on the back. Perhaps look through your Propeller folders, libraries, example folders, etc. to be sure that the file didn't get saved into some unintentional place that isn't obvious upon start up.

Sorry I don't have more to help you. But hang in there until some gurus here on the forum get out of their Santa suits.

good luck,
Mark

LTAYLO91
12-27-2009, 03:37 AM
Thanks Mark.· I think the first mistake I made was not reading the message that auto recover puts at the top of the page.· I didnt immediately
recognize that it was an earler version of my program and I saved it.· If I had fully read the instructions, I should have closed it without saving.·
This was the top OBJ,·and all the other objects were fine, so rewriting it wasn't as diffacult as I first thought.· I would like to know what causes
auto recover to do this so I can avoid making the same mistake again.· My project initalizes 4 other objects which were not affected.· The 4 unaffected objects were started from scratch (file-new-then named) where the top object started as an example from the "Objects lab" folder that I "save as" another name.· Could modifing another file and "saving as" cause this "auto recover"?

Thanks again!
·Luke

ElectricAye
12-27-2009, 04:06 AM
Luke,

Once upon a time I had my computer do an "Auto Recover" when I commanded it to power down then left the lab and shut down the lab power a few minutes later. I think my computer never powered down and instead it got hung up on some bug, so I think it ran out of battery power and improperly shut down. However, I don't recall having the problems you had when I got everything started up a few days later. In any case, now when I want to shut down my computer I wait until I witness it has succeeded with a proper shut-down. Too often the darn thing gets hung up on something that requires me to click on something to allow it to continue with the shut down process. I sure hope the new Windows 7 doesn't act like the "old coarse and buggy days" of Windows. I really hate things like that.

keep smiling,
Mark
http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif