PDA

View Full Version : Welcome



Jim Ewald
12-23-2009, 02:48 AM
The first post in a new forum.

Oldbitcollector (Jeff)
12-23-2009, 03:18 AM
WooHoo! A PropScope section!!

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
New to the Propeller?

Visit the: The Propeller Pages (http://www.warrantyvoid.us/tiki-index.php?page=Propeller) @ Warranty Void.

Hanno
12-23-2009, 03:58 AM
Woohoo- 3rd post!
Hanno

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Co-author of the official Propeller Guide- available at Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Programming-Customizing-Multicore-Propeller-Parallax/dp/0071664505)
Developer of ViewPort (http://hannoware.com/viewport), the premier visual debugger for the Propeller (read the review here (http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/article/ROBOT_ViewPort.pdf), thread here (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=760083)),
12Blocks (http://12blocks.com), the block-based programming environment (thread here (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=819680))
and PropScope (http://hannoware.com/propscope), the multi-function USB oscilloscope/function generator/logic analyzer

SRLM
12-23-2009, 05:44 AM
Post #4...

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Powered by enthusiasm

hover1
12-23-2009, 08:36 AM
OK , first REAL post.http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/roll.gif

Will the schematic of the DAC card be published so we might use the TV out?

Jim

Hanno
12-23-2009, 09:11 AM
We were having such fun...

Parallax will have to decide on publishing the schematic.
But, looking at mine, I see that the usual pins 12..15 are used. Keep in mind it runs at 100Mhz. Also, CARD from the IOExpander should be driven high to disable ch2 from the ADC and to enable video output.
Hanno

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Co-author of the official Propeller Guide- available at Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Programming-Customizing-Multicore-Propeller-Parallax/dp/0071664505)
Developer of ViewPort (http://hannoware.com/viewport), the premier visual debugger for the Propeller (read the review here (http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/article/ROBOT_ViewPort.pdf), thread here (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=760083)),
12Blocks (http://12blocks.com), the block-based programming environment (thread here (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=819680))
and PropScope (http://hannoware.com/propscope), the multi-function USB oscilloscope/function generator/logic analyzer

Bean
12-23-2009, 09:19 AM
From what I understand the Propeller Tool doesn't reset the PropScope.
If that is the case, how do we reprogram the PropScope ?
Also, if you reprogram the PropScope, how do you get the original firmware back into it ?

Bean.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -
PropBASIC home page www.propbasic.com (http://www.propbasic.com)


Post Edited (Bean (Hitt Consulting)) : 12/23/2009 5:36:55 PM GMT

CannibalRobotics
12-23-2009, 09:39 AM
But... without the firmware, is it Still a PropScope?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Signature space for rent!
Send $1 to CannibalRobotics.com.

hover1
12-23-2009, 09:52 AM
Bean, you're right. I see the firmware is not available. No playing with PropScope until at least the .bin is avalable.

Reset problem...Mmmmm

Jim


Bean (Hitt Consulting) said...
From what I understand the Propeller Tool doesn't reset the PropScope.
If that is the case, how do we reprogram the PropScope ?

Also, if you reprogram the PropScope, how do you get the original firmware back into it ?

Bean.

hover1
12-23-2009, 09:55 AM
I think it would be a nice, sexy, blue encased Demo Board without LEDs, VGA and sound. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

CannibalRobotics said...
But... without the firmware, is it Still a PropScope?

CannibalRobotics
12-23-2009, 10:15 AM
The schematic shows the Reset line is routed to the DTR output on the USB, same as the demo board, So I'm thinking it's more of a code issue than a hardware problem.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Signature space for rent!
Send $1 to CannibalRobotics.com.

Oldbitcollector (Jeff)
12-23-2009, 10:49 AM
Bean (Hitt Consulting) said...
From what I understand the Propeller Tool doesn't reset the PropScope.
If that is the case, how do we reprogram the PropScope ?

Also, if you reprogram the PropScope, how do you get the original firmware back into it ?



As I understand it, the firmware is loaded into the PropScope each time you
start up the software. The .bin is in your Program folder.

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
New to the Propeller?

Visit the: The Propeller Pages (http://www.warrantyvoid.us/tiki-index.php?page=Propeller) @ Warranty Void.

hover1
12-23-2009, 11:03 AM
Jeff,

Your'e right! I knew I saw that·binary file somewhere!

But..... You can't load it with the propeller tool. Just tried it. It shows up in the port list, but you can't select it.

I can't seem to be able to blow the old firmware out with another Spin program to test the theory. Propeller tool will not allow it. Will BST get around that?

Jim


Oldbitcollector said...

Bean (Hitt Consulting) said...
From what I understand the Propeller Tool doesn't reset the PropScope.
If that is the case, how do we reprogram the PropScope ?

Also, if you reprogram the PropScope, how do you get the original firmware back into it ?



As I understand it, the firmware is loaded into the PropScope each time you
start up the software. The .bin is in your Program folder.

OBC



Post Edited (hover1) : 12/23/2009 3:15:35 AM GMT

hover1
12-23-2009, 11:35 AM
Bean,

It looks like you can reload firmware from the PropScope App. (File>Reload Firmware)

But I haven't been able to wipe it out to test it. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

More hacking needed.

Jim


Bean (Hitt Consulting) said...
From what I understand the Propeller Tool doesn't reset the PropScope.
If that is the case, how do we reprogram the PropScope ?

Also, if you reprogram the PropScope, how do you get the original firmware back into it ?

Bean.

ilovepi
12-23-2009, 12:54 PM
On my mac, I loaded in the propeller firmware by:

1) Install the FTDI serial drivers
2) Change /System/Library/Extensions/FTDIUSBSerialDriver.kext/Contents/Info.plist to look like this:




<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>PropScope</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.FTDI.driver.FTDIUSBSerialDriver</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>FTDIUSBSerialDriver</string>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOUSBInterface</string>
<key>bConfigurationValue</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>bInterfaceNumber</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>idProduct</key>
<integer>128</integer>
<key>idVendor</key>
<integer>5090</integer>
</dict>
<key>485USBTB-4W</key>




3) Then used bstl:

./bstl.osx propscope.binary

hover1
12-23-2009, 01:07 PM
Thanks for testing.

But can you load another arbitrary Spin binary to to Propscope with bstl?

I have not used BST yet. Will not run on my PowerBook 140C running 7.5·http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/shakehead.gif

Jim


ilovepi said...
On my mac, I loaded in the propeller firmware by:

1) Install the FTDI serial drivers
2) Change /System/Library/Extensions/FTDIUSBSerialDriver.kext/Contents/Info.plist to look like this:




<key>IOKitPersonalities</key>
<dict>
<key>PropScope</key>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.FTDI.driver.FTDIUSBSerialDriver</string>
<key>IOClass</key>
<string>FTDIUSBSerialDriver</string>
<key>IOProviderClass</key>
<string>IOUSBInterface</string>
<key>bConfigurationValue</key>
<integer>1</integer>
<key>bInterfaceNumber</key>
<integer>0</integer>
<key>idProduct</key>
<integer>128</integer>
<key>idVendor</key>
<integer>5090</integer>
</dict>
<key>485USBTB-4W</key>




3) Then used bstl:

./bstl.osx propscope.binary

ilovepi
12-23-2009, 01:34 PM
I don't see why it wouldn't. Hanno said earlier that the propscope.binary file is a standard firmware. I'm not a propeller developer yet but if you point me to an easy binary to test with, I'll give it a shot for you.

SRLM
12-23-2009, 01:55 PM
@hover1

If you just want to load a file onto the propscope to get something else in there, can't you just make the binary with prop tool, rename it, and replace the propscope bin file?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Powered by enthusiasm

Hanno
12-23-2009, 06:00 PM
Great discussion.
Luckily this very simple- the firmware for the PropScope is included as a .binary in the propscope/firmware directory. I create it with the Propeller Tool. When you start PropScope, it loads that file to the Propeller- every time. It uses the latest version of Propellent to only find USB devices with a specific VID/PID- see Ken's post in the other thread. v1.2.7+ of the Propeller Tool by default hides USB devices with that VID/PID. This was done to let the average user use both the PropScope and other Propeller devices at the same time. I thought Jeff was going to let you change some setting in the Propeller Tool to allow you to see the PropScope if you really wanted to. In the mean time, you can use Propeller Tool v1.2.6 or below, use the info above, or use the PropScope software to "load firmware".
Enjoy!
Hanno

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Co-author of the official Propeller Guide- available at Amazon (http://www.amazon.com/Programming-Customizing-Multicore-Propeller-Parallax/dp/0071664505)
Developer of ViewPort (http://hannoware.com/viewport), the premier visual debugger for the Propeller (read the review here (http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/article/ROBOT_ViewPort.pdf), thread here (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=760083)),
12Blocks (http://12blocks.com), the block-based programming environment (thread here (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=819680))
and PropScope (http://hannoware.com/propscope), the multi-function USB oscilloscope/function generator/logic analyzer

BradC
01-14-2010, 06:30 PM
hover1 said...
Thanks for testing.

But can you load another arbitrary Spin binary to to Propscope with bstl?

I have not used BST yet. Will not run on my PowerBook 140C running 7.5 http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/shakehead.gif



Wow, I just spotted this. You are still using a PowerBook 140C with OS7.5 ?

How's the battery life ?

I gave away my m68k based Macs before I moved away in 2003. They were excellent little machines, although they used to take about 4 days to compile a 2.2 Linux Kernel :)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Life may be "too short", but it's the longest thing we ever do.

hover1
01-15-2010, 03:35 AM
I'm sure you deduced it was a little tounge in cheek reply. I still do use the laptop, but only for running switching software for my Opcode Studio 4 MIDI controller. That's it's only purpose in life. Battery died many moons ago. Runs on AC only now. But it lives on!

Jim


BradC said...

hover1 said...
Thanks for testing.

But can you load another arbitrary Spin binary to to Propscope with bstl?

I have not used BST yet. Will not run on my PowerBook 140C running 7.5 http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/shakehead.gif



Wow, I just spotted this. You are still using a PowerBook 140C with OS7.5 ?

How's the battery life ?

I gave away my m68k based Macs before I moved away in 2003. They were excellent little machines, although they used to take about 4 days to compile a 2.2 Linux Kernel :)