PDA

View Full Version : Why does the prop tool random highlight white space and throw random errors?



Kye
12-18-2009, 11:49 AM
Has anyone ever had this happen to them?

For example, I may hit the compile or load buttons too many times and in responce the prop tool will open some random sub object and highlight some whitespace in there and throw various compliation errors.

Then if I try again only hitting the button once everything is fine.

Its kinda getting weird now based on how its happed to me alot now.



▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Nyamekye,

potatohead
12-18-2009, 12:20 PM
Less coffee man. Just less :)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Propeller Wiki: Share the coolness! (http://propeller.wikispaces.com/)
8x8 color 80 Column NTSC Text Object (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/550/)
Safety Tip: Life is as good as YOU think it is!

Kye
12-18-2009, 12:24 PM
I don't drink. =)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Nyamekye,

MagIO2
12-18-2009, 02:02 PM
Yep ... have the same problem from time to time.

Did not investigate on it so far, but when you say it happens when you press compile button to often it makes sense to me. The keyboard of my eee sometimes sends 2 keystrokes instead of one, which is funny when doing cut and paste. So I assume that PropTool has this problem when the keyboard accidently sends 2 compile keystrokes.

Chris_D
12-18-2009, 06:37 PM
Kye,

I have been having that problem lately too. For me, it always pops up on the very last line of a particular sub-object. This happens about 1 out of 20 compiles would be my guess.

Chris

VIRAND
12-18-2009, 07:32 PM
MagIO2 said...
Yep ... have the same problem from time to time.

Did not investigate on it so far, but when you say it happens when you press compile button to often it makes sense to me. The keyboard of my eee sometimes sends 2 keystrokes instead of one, which is funny when doing cut and paste. So I assume that PropTool has this problem when the keyboard accidently sends 2 compile keystrokes.


Try an external mouse. It could be static on the tap pad.

ErNa
12-18-2009, 08:09 PM
Just the right amount of coffee! ErNa

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
cmapspublic3.ihmc.us:80/servlet/SBReadResourceServlet?rid=1181572927203_421963583_ 5511&partName=htmltext (http://cmapspublic3.ihmc.us:80/servlet/SBReadResourceServlet?rid=1181572927203_421963583_ 5511&partName=htmltext)
Hello Rest Of The World
Hello Debris
Install a propeller and blow them away http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/wink.gif

Kye
12-18-2009, 10:31 PM
I'm not sure if its a prop tool problem or what.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Nyamekye,

David Carrier
12-19-2009, 01:27 AM
Kye,
The Propeller tool doesn't queue the compile command keystrokes; it acts on them as they are given. If you press F10 or F11 with the right timing, you can get the Propeller Tool to try to compile while it is in the middle of compiling, and it will give you the strange failures that you mentioned. This is a known issue that is in the list of fixes we are working on, in the Propeller Tool.

-- David Carrier

Kye
12-19-2009, 01:34 AM
That sounds about right.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Nyamekye,