PDA

View Full Version : Open-sourced Propeller Windows IDE - very possible, but helpful?

Ken Gracey
12-12-2009, 04:09 AM
Hey all,

Providing you with some insight about what we're thinking of doing ahead of time with the Windows Prop IDE. Having spent the last couple of days researching various aspects of open source I now know less than when I started looking around. I'm not a programmer, nor am I experienced with open-source licenses, so you'll need to add a bit of your own interpretation to what we're going to propose. Chip and Jeff are busy doing other development work today, so you get me.

If we open-sourced our Windows Propeller IDE it would provide enough information to aid developers in creating some entirely new programming tools. This is what could be released under one of the Creative Commons licenses:

- Delphi code
- compiler assembly language source code
- Spin interpreter (posted somewhere in the forums already)
- Propellant library

That's the whole software side, well almost.

The Delphi code uses several licensed components from elsewhere, which may not have open license arrangements that allow us to redistribute them as source. We would identify those code segments and their purpose. This means that developers with the right Delphi tools wouldn't be able to produce a complete compiled IDE from our source download because they'd be missing components that we have no license to redistribute.

As Chip puts it, the compiler assembly language source code would also be "pretty complicated" to understand. Again, not sure how useful this would be either.

All Parallax would retain at this point would be the Propeller silicon, but enough code would be provided that creative developers would be able to create tools for even more obscure platforms, like a Blackberry or smart phone. Existing developers would have less reverse-engineering to achieve their tools and they would be able to call upon other forum members for help, too.