PDA

View Full Version : connecting a basicstamp2 with a stereo connector or a prop plug ?



whiteoxe
10-23-2009, 07:19 AM
Hi,
ииииии I have two basic stamp2e . haven't connected them as yet, Ive been using a stero connector and serial cable to program picaxe,
иииии can I use the stereo connector and the serial cable to use with the basic stamp. I did have the $99 board of education but now some stranger owns that board(i'd love to find him :) http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/skull.gif

mikediv
10-23-2009, 07:38 AM
green I am not familiar with the 2e but I have a couple basic stamp 2 if you don't have the carrier board I copied the basic stamp OEM board circuit which is serial and it worked just fine with Parallax IDE

whiteoxe
10-23-2009, 08:52 AM
mike can you post the link for the OEM board circuit ? no hurry, Im still busy eperimenting with the Prop and picaxe chips!

Forrest
10-23-2009, 09:06 AM
The Basic Stamp 2 Carrier board is very simple to replicate - see the schematic here www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/BASICStampDevelopmentBoards/tabid/137/CategoryID/12/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/121/Default.aspx (http://www.parallax.com/Store/Microcontrollers/BASICStampDevelopmentBoards/tabid/137/CategoryID/12/List/0/SortField/0/Level/a/ProductID/121/Default.aspx)

Two 0.1 uF capacitors, some wire/connectors and a 9V battery is all you need.

whiteoxe
10-23-2009, 09:14 AM
thanks and cheers !

Mike Green
10-23-2009, 09:32 AM
You won't be able to use a stereo connector because that's 3 wires (Tx, Rx, Ground). The BS2 Stamps require 4 wires (that plus DTR to reset the Stamp).