PDA

View Full Version : The Propeller Robot Module is up!



Brandon C.
07-24-2009, 01:13 AM
The Propeller Robot Module is a robot control board with 8 servo I/O and 8 sensor/general purpose I/O. has been tested by me with 7 servos running at once without a problem (I do have 9 servo's but the other 2 are in use right now so I only tested it with 7). also has an on-board LCD and 3 buttons for UI.

PRM (GadgetGangster) (http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171)

Top view:

http://gadgetgangster.com/scripts/displayasset.php?id=185


Bottom view (Propeller side)

http://gadgetgangster.com/scripts/displayasset.php?id=200


I/O Pins:

http://gadgetgangster.com/scripts/displayasset.php?id=199



Let me know what you think!


Brandon C.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
No purchase necessary. See back panel for more details.

Tired of the same old robot brains? not enough processing power? Get the Propeller Robot Module now!!
http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171

Bill Henning
07-24-2009, 01:45 AM
Looks good!


Brandon C. said...
The Propeller Robot Module is a robot control board with 8 servo I/O and 8 sensor/general purpose I/O. has been tested by me with 7 servos running at once without a problem (I do have 9 servo's but the other 2 are in use right now so I only tested it with 7). also has an on-board LCD and 3 buttons for UI.

PRM (GadgetGangster) (http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171)

Top view:

http://gadgetgangster.com/scripts/displayasset.php?id=185


Bottom view (Propeller side)

http://gadgetgangster.com/scripts/displayasset.php?id=200


I/O Pins:

http://gadgetgangster.com/scripts/displayasset.php?id=199



Let me know what you think!


Brandon C.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
www.mikronauts.com (http://www.mikronauts.com) - my site 6.250MHz custom Crystals for running Propellers at 100MHz (http://mikronauts.com/products/mikronauts-625mhz-crystal/)
Las (http://mikronauts.com/products/las-largos-lmm-assembler/) - Large model assembler for the Propeller Largos (http://mikronauts.com/products/largos/) - a feature full nano operating system for the Propeller
Morpheus & Mem+ (http://mikronauts.com/products/morpheus/) Advanced dual Propeller SBC with XMM and 256 Color VGA
Please use mikronauts _at_ gmail _dot_ com to contact me off-forum, my PM is almost totally full

Nick McClick
07-24-2009, 05:42 AM
Good photos! It's a really easy to put together kit, too.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Gadget Gangster - Share your Electronic Projects (http://www.gadgetgangster.com)

Brandon C.
07-24-2009, 06:24 AM
Good! I was afraid it might be a little confusing to put together.

Brandon C.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
No purchase necessary. See back panel for more details.

Tired of the same old robot brains? not enough processing power? Get the Propeller Robot Module now!! (http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171)

Vaati
07-24-2009, 07:26 AM
Wow--that is some project.... Very nice soldering job, by the way. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

So, what does the lcd display...?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Quit buying all those fixed voltage regulators, and·get an Adjustable Power Supply (http://www.gadgetgangster.com/130)·for your projects!· Includes an LED testing terminal!

*-NEW-* SD Card Adapter (http://www.gadgetgangster.com/158)·Now available!· Add extra memory to your next Propeller project with ease!

Brandon C.
07-24-2009, 08:32 AM
Hi Vaati!

Thanks, I got better after ruining my other BossBoard. I think I learned from my mistakes ... http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/tongue.gif

the LCD displays information when debugging. e.g. you want to display the status of a sensor or the position of a servo. or you can just write whatever you want! http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smilewinkgrin.gif

Brandon C.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
No purchase necessary. See back panel for more details.

Tired of the same old robot brains? not enough processing power? Get the Propeller Robot Module now!! (http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171)

SRLM
07-24-2009, 08:49 AM
A suggestion: you may want to bring the crystal as close as you can to the Propeller pins. Longer traces increase the chance that the frequency will be distorted by radio waves.

hinv
07-24-2009, 09:58 AM
Another suggestion: you may also want to put some tantalum decoupling capacitors between ground and 5V real close to the chip. I am not sure what the servos will need(I'm no expert), but it doesn't look like you have as much capacitance as a protoboard and it is only meant to drive 4. Also the capacitor is closer to the servo connections on the protoboard. I am not sure if this is necessary for servos, but it couldn't hurt.

Just putting in my 10 bits.

Doug

Microcontrolled
07-24-2009, 10:16 PM
Nice module!

What happened to pin 17 on your Propeller??

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Toys are microcontroled.
Robots are microcontroled.
I am microcontroled.


If it's not Parallax then don't even bother. :-)
·

Mini-Din/PS2 connectors are for sale! 5 for $1! PM me if you wish to make an order.
Cheap·shipping unless specified!··········150 left!!··

Brandon C.
07-24-2009, 11:13 PM
LOL - glad you asked!

my propeller has been through allot. lets put it that way.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
No purchase necessary. See back panel for more details.

Tired of the same old robot brains? not enough processing power? Get the Propeller Robot Module now!! (http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171)

JonnyMac
07-24-2009, 11:32 PM
The next time you build one of those modules you may want to use a socket. The stack of the socket and chip is shorter than the 2.1mm barrel connector so you shouldn't have any space constraints.

Brandon C.
07-24-2009, 11:54 PM
I was going to but there was no where I could get one locally and I did not want to make another order.

Brandon C.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
No purchase necessary. See back panel for more details.

Tired of the same old robot brains? not enough processing power? Get the Propeller Robot Module now!! (http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171)

JonnyMac
07-25-2009, 03:33 AM
This is [one of the many reasons] why I love LA -- have a company called ECI (pricey, but convenient) right here in Burbank and All Electronics is just a few miles down the road. Since you're a Propeller head you might want to order a few extra sockets for your projects; I did that with my last Mouser order.

BTW, I have a few objects in the ObEx that might be useful: jm_debounce (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/489/) (for buttons), jm_lcd4_ez (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/474/), and jm_servo8 (http://obex.parallax.com/objects/445/).

Brandon C.
07-25-2009, 03:41 AM
All I have is a bunch of radioshack's near me. they're convenient but don't always have the item i'm looking for in stock. I really hate ordering, but I have no other choice sometimes. The next time I order I will get a whole bunch of sockets. I just made an order from Digi-key a week ago and was planning on buying some sockets but completely forgot.

Thanks for the propeller objects! I already have an object for servo control and the LCD, but nothing for buttons yet. i'll be sure to check it out sometime.

Brandon C.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
No purchase necessary. See back panel for more details.

Tired of the same old robot brains? not enough processing power? Get the Propeller Robot Module now!! (http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171)

JonnyMac
07-25-2009, 04:52 AM
Based on my experience with high-current servo use in the props (as in movie props) and special fx industries I do servos differently than others. My object will only do eight servos as it uses a "walking" pattern with only one servo pulse being processed at a time within the frame; this cuts down on noise in the system. I'm working to incorporate this into a friend's animation system (see www.socalhalloween.com) so I recently added a flag so that you don't update positions in the middle of a servo frame -- this is important for maintaining synchronization in the system.

Are you going to post the code you're using with your project on G/G? The hardware is usually the easiest part -- for the project to be useful to others they'll need your firmware.

Brandon C.
07-25-2009, 05:11 AM
I am working on some demo code for it right now. will be up soon! I kinda have it working but I need to check for bugs and add some comments to make it easier to read.


Brandon C.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
No purchase necessary. See back panel for more details.

Tired of the same old robot brains? not enough processing power? Get the Propeller Robot Module now!! (http://gadgetgangster.com/find-a-project/56?projectnum=171)