PDA

View Full Version : Propeller Kit



AIman
07-20-2009, 10:06 PM
I have a propller kit and have it mostly togther but can't figure out where to put the capacitors.

Where do I connect the capacitors on the board?

ksam
07-20-2009, 11:10 PM
the (2) 1000 uf capacitors come off of the voltage regulators.·· The positive side of each is connectected to the out side of each regulator and the other side is grounded.· The .47 uf capacitor is for if you are using a power source that plugs into the wall.

AIman
07-22-2009, 11:05 PM
In other words, make sure the wires on the capacitor match the holes were the regulators are?

Mike Green
07-22-2009, 11:39 PM
Sort of ... the regulators have 3 terminals and the capacitors have 2 terminals. It's important which 2 of the 3 terminals you use for the capacitors. Follow the assembly directions.

AIman
07-27-2009, 07:00 AM
Ok, I am confused. I haven't seen the instructions in the·PE Kit book·and the pictures aren't clear to me.

What page of the book has the instruction?

hinv
07-27-2009, 07:07 AM
Below is what you need. #3

Book - Propeller Education Kit Labs: Fundamentals
1) Propeller Microcontroller and Labs Overview
2) Software Documentation and Resources
3) Setup and Testing Lab for 40-Pin DIP PE Platform
4) I/O and Timing Basics
5) Methods and Cogs
6) Objects
7) Counter Modules and Circuit Applications

www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/prop/PELabsFunBook-v1.1.pdf (http://www.parallax.com/Portals/0/Downloads/docs/prod/prop/PELabsFunBook-v1.1.pdf)

AIman
07-27-2009, 10:11 PM
To be clear, the 6.3v capacitor goes long side to hole 1 and the other to hole 3 and the 25v goes·to hole k5 and the long side·to J6?

Post Edited (AIman) : 7/27/2009 2:27:18 PM GMT

Fxc2hh
07-27-2009, 11:52 PM
ksam said...
the (2) 1000 uf capacitors come off of the voltage regulators.·· The positive side of each is connectected to the out side of each regulator and the other side is grounded.· The .47 uf capacitor is for if you are using a power source that plugs into the wall.


I took my power supply to Radio Shack and I didn't realize how hard this would be but they said I needed to have the board that the plug goes into to find a match because they have a fist full of plugs.· I found that plug N seems to fit well enough but they are out of them.

If I battery power the demo board, would the capacitors be in the way or would they have to be removed?· What would the proper DC voltage be?

Sapieha
07-28-2009, 02:54 AM
Hi Chuckz.

You can add more caps. ...
BUT never remove any.
Them have its function in that place... And are not bare for at it will looks GOOD!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Nothing is impossible, there are only different degrees of difficulty.
For every stupid question there is at least one intelligent answer.
Don't guess - ask instead.
If you don't ask you won't know.
If your gonna construct something, make it·as simple as·possible yet as versatile as posible.


Sapieha

Joms
07-28-2009, 06:08 AM
Do not really rely on which lead is longer. I have seen many components, LEDs, Caps, etc. that have been wrong.

Instead look for the 'line' or minus strip on the side of the capacitor. This will be on the side with the negetive lead. Sometimes the line is even a different color.

Always observe polarity for a capacitor (unless it is bipolor) or it will fail!