PDA

View Full Version : Considering Prop Board Question.



Prettybird
07-18-2009, 10:25 AM
ˇˇ I keep hearing get a prop board for more power. I am new to the stamp thing and am just scratching the surface. I am more interestted in robotics then video games and have 3 styles to choose from. I am asuming the first pic would be better for me. It has the sd card slot but no stereo or mic plug? Not really necessory for me. I would just like some pro opinions for now. The second 2 seem to be the same. Thanks again in advance. So far I am happy with the BS2 series.

jazzed
07-18-2009, 10:55 AM
If I had to choose among these, I think the P8X321 would be it. SD CARD is priceless for saving data and keeping programs that you can load one at a time if necessary using a Propeller O/S. A huge EEPROM could serve similar function, but SD CARD would be much faster to update. Speakers are good for robot/human one-way communication. The board appears to have 3 ADC channels which can be good for analog sensors. Of course, not having the 3-pin servo headers is a strike against the board for robotics use, but you can get around that. Having connectors for many Propeller pins is a plus. Not sure how the dimensions would work since none are mentioned.

Most people buy a Propeller Proto Board or Demo Board (which is half price today), and add things they need. You should have a serious look at them too if possible.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
--Steve


Propalyzer: Propeller PC Logic Analyzer (http://www.brouhaha.com/~sdenson/Propalyzer)
http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=788230 (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=788230)

mctrivia
07-18-2009, 11:03 AM
how about this. power supply, sd card and all pins free still

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
propmod_us and propmod_1x1 are in stock. Only $30 (http://propmodule.com/?x=products). PCB available for $5

Want to make projects and have Gadget Gangster sell them for you? propmod-us_ps_sd (http://www.gadgetgangster.com/160) and propmod-1x1 (http://www.gadgetgangster.com/161) are now available for use in your Gadget Gangster Projects.

Need to upload large images or movies for use in the forum. you can do so at uploader.propmodule.com (http://uploader.propmodule.com) for free.

Timmoore
07-18-2009, 11:44 AM
I would agree with Jazzed, I would look hard at the prop propboards.
I pretty much use the prop protoboards for most of my robots, if I want to experiment I add connectors round the cpu and the ucontroller modules fit (see http://ucontroller.com/Propeller%20Protoboard%20Designs%20for%20the%20Beg inner.pdf). I waited until the protoboard was a daily deal and brought a few.
I have used the spin stamp for a smaller bot and will be trying the propmod for another small bot.
I mostly find the boards with more stuff on isn't targeted for bots, it is sound, video, mouse, keyboard which is useful when developing a new driver but just gets in the way on a bot. Also if I remember correctly the protoboard is the right size and with the right placed holes to fit on the boe-bot.

Prettybird
07-18-2009, 12:05 PM
Thanks for the info. The only thing I don't like about some demo boards is if you goof up, you can't replace the processor. I admit I have had good luck with the BS2 homework board and have some other boards laying around. The prop is just an idea for now. Thanks alot as usual guys.


The more you learn, the more you find you don't know. It is neverending. Confucous 550 BC

Leon
07-18-2009, 02:19 PM
Here is a simple prototyping PCB of mine that may easily be made at home:

www.leonheller.com/Propeller/index.html (http://www.leonheller.com/Propeller/index.html)

Leon

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
Suzuki SV1000S motorcycle

hinv
07-18-2009, 03:43 PM
I would quick snatch up a Demo Board at $40, that is a steal. Also it is the most common board on the forums so you can easily try out most stuff that people write like Femto Basic, PropDos, etc.
I have been eyeing the propmod for a while also. It is quite neat for breadboarding. The only thing I would like to add would be a USB plug (and ftd chip) right on the thing
Doug

mosquito56
07-19-2009, 12:50 AM
Leon, Liked the homemade pcb, great idea.

Any chance of getting part numbers or descriptions for:

1.sockets for chips

2.connector for monitor



▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
ˇˇˇˇˇˇˇ

ˇˇˇˇˇˇˇ "What do you mean, it doesn't have any tubes?"
ˇˇˇˇˇˇˇ "No such thing as a dumb question" unless it's on the internet
ˇˇˇˇˇˇˇˇ

Leon
07-19-2009, 02:00 AM
I just used standard turned-pin sockets, they are available everywhere. This is the phono connector I used for video:

www.rapidonline.com/Cables-Connectors/Connectors-Audio-Video/Phono/Skeleton-PCB-mounted-phono-sockets/63521 (http://www.rapidonline.com/Cables-Connectors/Connectors-Audio-Video/Phono/Skeleton-PCB-mounted-phono-sockets/63521)

Leon

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
Suzuki SV1000S motorcycle

parts-man73
07-19-2009, 05:24 AM
SpinStudio might be what you are looking for...

ucontroller.com/index_pro1.html (http://ucontroller.com/index_pro1.html)

It's a modular system, with a socketed Propeller and EEPROM. You can just plug in the modules that you need, and switch around and purchase additional modules as your needs change. SD card adapters/video/keyboard/mouse/VGA/Ethernet/joysticks/NES modules are available. And coming very soon is a ADC module.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Brian

uController.com (http://uController.com) - home of SpinStudio - the modular Development system for the Propeller

PropNIC (http://uController.com) - Add ethernet ability to your Propeller! PropJoy (http://uController.com) - Plug in a joystick and play some games!

SD card Adapter (http://uController.com) - mass storage for the masses Audio/Video adapter (http://uController.com) add composite video and sound to your Proto Board

CounterRotatingProps
07-19-2009, 07:08 AM
@Prettybird:

also take a look at:

http://www.parallax.com/tabid/442/Default.aspx
and get the propeller cookbook

@Leon:
is the PUSTOM display on your Prop proto board link the same as, or similar to, this one:
http://www.darkplanets.co.uk/product_info.asp?pid=416
? Nice looking tiny display!

- H

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

Painless
07-19-2009, 08:25 AM
Prettybird said...
Thanks for the info. The only thing I don't like about some demo boards is if you goof up, you can't replace the processor. I admit I have had good luck with the BS2 homework board and have some other boards laying around. The prop is just an idea for now. Thanks alot as usual guys.


The more you learn, the more you find you don't know. It is neverending. Confucous 550 BC


If you like the idea of a prototyping board, but prefer replaceable components, consider the PropRPM. I purchased one and simply added things as I needed them.

Russ.

localroger
07-19-2009, 08:38 AM
As Painless said, the PropRPM is fully socketed and very forgiving. You do need a real serial port on your computer and a cable to program it. I used them because I was in a hurry and it's the only commonly available turnkey solution that has a true RS232 port, but it also answers concerns about blowing up parts and being able to replace them. (Not sure how those socketed components will fare mounted next to the truck scale over time, but we'll find out http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif I didn't need the LED bar but used it to display debug/service status type stuff that will come in handy if the thing ever breaks. You could also, if you prefer, simply remove the LED bar from its socket and use the I/O pins.

Don't forget though there is an upcoming shortage of 40-pin DIP Propellers such as the PropRPM uses, so availability might be an issue for the next few months.

JonnyMac
07-19-2009, 08:45 AM
Since everyone's chiming in... I created a board called the Propeller Platform for my column in Nuts & Volts magazine. Nick McClanahan is rolling this into production and it will be available from Gadget Gangster (http://www.gadgetgangster.com) shortly. I designed the P/P around the standard Miniboard size offered by ExpressPCB (http://www.expresspcb.com) so that myself and others could easily create add-on modules. In the works are an LCD UI (LCD with mini joystick and push button) and generic prototyping board. This is just the start.

Prettybird
07-20-2009, 02:18 AM
ˇStill thinking. I found more info on the first board I showed. I guess it is made in Thailand and the price dropped since my first post. Still seeing if Ebay is good to me or not. Here is a schematic that goes with the board. I found in this forum. I am not much into generics for the main board but it has so many bells and whistles. Still just dreaming. Have to sell to buy.ˇDoes the schematic seem to match parallax's pinout for devices? Thanks again guys. Electronics is my new escape from the wifey. lol

Post Edited (Prettybird) : 7/19/2009 6:28:05 PM GMT

jazzed
07-20-2009, 02:58 AM
A small missed opportunity: pins 23 & 24 are not connected to a mini-din (keyboard or mouse), but 25 & 26 are.
Of course the optimist would suggest that you could attach 23 & 24 to the extra mini-din pins and use a splitter.
There are standards for dual-purpose PS/2 compatible mini-dins and splitter cables, though I'm not sure where just now.

Device pin-outs are close to most Spin objects and the circuits match most common schematics as far as I can tell.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
--Steve


Propalyzer: Propeller PC Logic Analyzer (http://www.brouhaha.com/~sdenson/Propalyzer)
http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=788230 (http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=788230)

Leon
07-20-2009, 03:26 AM
CounterRotatingProps said...
@Prettybird:

also take a look at:

http://www.parallax.com/tabid/442/Default.aspx
and get the propeller cookbook

@Leon:
is the PUSTOM display on your Prop proto board link the same as, or similar to, this one:
http://www.darkplanets.co.uk/product_info.asp?pid=416
? Nice looking tiny display!

- H


I think I bought it from them. It gets very hot when left on for 30 minutes or more, the heat seems to come from the display. Apart from that it works very well.

Leon

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Amateur radio callsign: G1HSM
Suzuki SV1000S motorcycle

Prettybird
07-20-2009, 05:37 AM
ˇ I found some more imfo on the second board I was looking at. It is Thailand. Smaller but with the stereo and mic. The LEDs are not missed for what I want. Also no SD card or USB, just RS-232.ˇI guess I have to look at the schematics more. Never realised Thailand was so much into electronics. Japan and China of coarse. Any opinions would be usefull. Enclosed are the parts layout and schematic (in english). At least I can get the standard pinouts for the I/O if I decide to make my own. Thanks again guys.


The more you learn, the more you find you don't know. It is neverending. Confucous 550 BC

Post Edited (Prettybird) : 7/20/2009 6:58:55 AM GMT