PDA

View Full Version : <Newbie> Program an H Bridge



samsn4
04-06-2009, 10:39 AM
IS there a way to Program an H Bridge into the Prop ?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Daniel Mueth

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~

"Just plug it in and let's see what happens"

T Chap
04-06-2009, 10:45 AM
You mean use the Prop pins as the Hbridge or drive an Hbridge via the Prop? You can program/drive transistors/Fets from the Prop, sure. Ideally an Hbridge driver IC would be used though for a number of reasons.

Post Edited (TChapman) : 4/6/2009 3:50:31 AM GMT

Philldapill
04-06-2009, 11:14 AM
Daniel, you need to elaborate more on what you want to know. An H-bridge is simple a CIRCUIT that can reverse polarity to a load. You can write some code to control an H-bridge, but the circuit itself cannot be programmed. There are devices that can take digital logic in, or a servo pulse in, and control an H-bridge that way.

As using the Propeller as an H-bridge, you COULD do this, however, you should not try it with anything that will pull a significant amount of current. I can't remember off the top of my head, but I think the MAXIMUM current and I/O pin can source/sink is something like 40mA. You could write some code that would toggle two pins high or low, and attach a VERY small load in between. Maybe a couple of anti-parallel LEDs or something(with resistors of course).

Can you elaborate a little more on what you want to do?

TJHJ
04-06-2009, 10:27 PM
If its a good· sized motor jus get this.

http://www.parallax.com/Store/Accessories/MotorServoControllers/tabid/160/CategoryID/35/List/0/Level/a/ProductID/64/Default.aspx?SortField=ProductName%2cProductName

Building an H-Bridge is an art. My vote use what already works great.

TJ

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I owe everyone here a bunch, So thanks again for answering my dumb questions.
Projects. RG500 ECU system. PropCopter. Prop CanSat. Prop Paste Gun.
Suzuki RG500 in a RGV 250 frame.
Bimota V-Due (Running on the fuel injection system)
Aprilia RS250

Robot Freak
04-06-2009, 10:55 PM
I used a LM298 because I needed 6 motors.
It's a bit expensive to buy 6x HB-26 for $50 each.

Edit:
One LM298 can control 2 motors.
60V / 2A max