PDA

View Full Version : A question about pin assignments on the VGA output



ElectricAye
03-28-2009, 06:25 AM
Greetings,

I'm new to anything done with VGA displays, and I rescued one recently that powers up but its VGA plug is missing pin 9. On the Propeller Demo Board schematic, pin 9 is shown tied to 5v. I was wondering if it's sometimes customary on old VGA displays to leave this pin off the plug because it is somehow tied to 5v internally to the display, or am I just out of luck with a broken VGA plug that I need t hack into and re-wire with a good plug?

thanks,
Mark


http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

Oldbitcollector (Jeff)
03-28-2009, 06:35 AM
IIRC, The reason the pin 9 is there is to provide power to the monitor so that the plug-n-play will still work if the monitor is off. It shouldn't be an issue here. Either way, the best way to know is give it a shot. :)

OBC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
New to the Propeller?

Visit the: The Propeller Pages (http://www.warrantyvoid.us/tiki-index.php?page=Propeller) @ Warranty Void.

Joms
03-28-2009, 06:37 AM
OBC is correct. A computer will apply 5volts to pin 9 to tell the monitor to turn on. That is how the monitor can turn off after 30 min, etc. If your monitor does not have it, it just means that it does not have a way to allow a computer to tell it to turn off remotely. On the other hand, if you have a monitor that does want pin 9 to be hooked up and you tie it low, the monitor will not turn on when you try to (or the power light will turn on but be orange instead of green, etc).

That monitor will work just fine on the prop...

ElectricAye
03-28-2009, 09:09 AM
Joms said...
OBC is correct. ... That monitor will work just fine on the prop...


thanks, guys, that helps a lot.


http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif