PDA

View Full Version : RE: Propellar Restart



schwiegjc
03-26-2009, 10:01 PM
When I insert the USB cable from the Propellar (with it On) to PC, the Propellar will reset itself?

Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)
03-26-2009, 10:04 PM
That's a likely outcome, yes. Plugging in the cable apparently causes an edge on DTR, which trigger's the Prop's /RST pin.

-Phil

schwiegjc
03-27-2009, 01:32 AM
I have a program that displays a sensor information to TV with applicable select buttons. The program runs good and downloads to EEPROM. If the propeller is turned ON, the program load ups and runs properly. But, if I remove the USB cable, the program will load up properly, but some of the switches do not operate properly. It seems only if propeller is plugged into the PC USB (active port) that the program will operate properly. If the program is turned ON attach to the PC USB and then removed, the program operates properly.

Brian Fairchild
03-27-2009, 01:42 AM
Two thoughts...

1) I've seen odd things where a circuit has ended up getting its earth/ground connection via the programming link to the PC. Which proto board are you using and how does it get its power.

2) Does your proto board have a reset switch on it? If it does, try repeating your experiments above but instead of attaching/disconnecting the PC try using the reset switch.