PDA

View Full Version : Video output truncated when using propeller starter kit demo board



mschmidt
03-16-2009, 01:12 AM
Yesterday I've got the Propeller starter kit from a local retailer and tried it today. I have plugged in the power supply and connected the demo board to an EyeTV frame grabber on my Macbook Pro and to an external LCD (both via composite cable). Obviously, there's a graphics demo pre-installed on the chip, but on both displays the video output gets truncated. I have attached an image showing the effect.

What am I doing wrong?

Maik

CJ
03-16-2009, 01:23 AM
I would try loading the graphics demo from the propeller tools library first, I think that the preloaded demo is like this.
can't recall exactly where I got this info, just going with my gut feeling. http://forums.parallax.com/images/smilies/smile.gif

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Parallax Forums - If you're ready to learn, we're ready to help.

potatohead
03-16-2009, 01:23 AM
This is perfectly normal.

A Propeller does not have enough RAM to run both displays fully. The choice was made to go ahead and display both with partial graphics_demo video output, so the user could check out their board.

Go ahead and load up the graphics demo from the Propeller tool library, run it, and you will see the entire screen filed! Your board is working properly in this respect.

I got the info from either Ken or Beau, when I asked the same thing after buying a Demo board.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Propeller Wiki: Share the coolness! (http://propeller.wikispaces.com/)
Chat in real time with other Propellerheads on IRC #propeller @ freenode.net (http://propeller.wikispaces.com/Join+us+on+IRC%21/)
Safety Tip: Life is as good as YOU think it is!

mschmidt
03-16-2009, 01:34 AM
Thank you very much for replying so quick!!

Just to prevent any misunderstandings: I did not connect two displays at the same time, of course. I've tried the LCD first and then the EyeTV.

I'll install the tool chain now and upload the graphics demo from the Propeller tool library.

Cheers,

Maik

mschmidt
03-16-2009, 02:28 AM
"Problem" solved!

I have uploaded the graphics demo from the Propeller tool library and it works perfectly!

Thanks again to both of you! I am really looking forward to playing around with the Propeller chip!