PDA

View Full Version : seperate power supply connection



science_geek
01-05-2009, 01:24 AM
i was wondering if it was possible to set up a propellor for some sort of communication without having a common ground, like a servo or esc from a hobby rc plane

StefanL38
01-05-2009, 02:18 AM
Hello,

whenever the connection is electrical there have to be a common ground otherwise
the voltagelevels can "flow around"

Your thread title speaks of powersupplying. There it is the same. If you don't connect grounds
to each other you have no reliable function.

If the devices have to be separated electrically use optocouplers or relays

best regards

Stefan

Post Edited (StefanL38) : 1/4/2009 7:41:47 PM GMT

Adrian Schneider
01-05-2009, 07:22 PM
use an optical connection, e.g. an optoisolator.