PDA

View Full Version : BS1 - upload a PBASIC program, need help



sky_parte
09-30-2008, 10:26 PM
Hello,

How can i upload a PBASIC program from a BS1 and program it in a new BS1?


FAQ:
Can I read-out, or upload, the PBASIC program which is already stored in the BASIC Stamp?
No. For security reasons, this feature was not made available. It is possible to read the tokenized form of the
PBASIC code out of the BASIC Stamp’s EEPROM, but there is no easy way to “reassemble” it into usable source code.


Thanks,
sky_parte


Post Edited (sky_parte) : 9/30/2008 3:36:31 PM GMT

Chris Savage
10-01-2008, 12:24 AM
Hello,

There is no way to recover code from an existing BS1 to download it into another. You must have the original source code. The only real way you could do this would be to remove the EEPROM from the BS1 and copy it in a device programmer. Problems is, you may damage the EEPROM removing it and lose the current code.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Chris Savage
Parallax Engineering

Mike Green
10-01-2008, 12:26 AM
Realistically, you can't. The READ statement can read the contents of the EEPROM, one byte at a time and you need to have a short program in the Stamp that will read the rest of the EEPROM and transmit it somewhere else, but this program takes up part of the EEPROM overwriting whatever was there initially.

If you have the right kind of test equipment, you can make electrical contact with the connections to the EEPROM on the BS1 module and use some kind of external equipment to read from the EEPROM. It's not trivial. As Chris indicated, you can easily destroy the EEPROM in the process.

sky_parte
11-07-2008, 12:35 AM
Hy again, and tanks for your support.

Now i have a BS1-IC (Rev. B),·with a 93LC66A EEPROM and a device programmer with a SOIC adapter.

Can i·read the code from·the 96LC56 EEPROM in BS1-IC (Rev. A) and program it into the·93LC66A EEPROM·using the device programmer?

Is it possible to use the code copied from the·EEPROM and download it using the BS1 Serial Programming Adapter·and the BASIC Stamp Editor into the new BS1?

What is the best way to achieve this?

Thanks,

sky_parte

Post Edited (sky_parte) : 11/6/2008 5:42:21 PM GMT

Mike Green
11-07-2008, 12:56 AM
You are on your own here.

allanlane5
11-07-2008, 01:12 AM
No, the Basic Stamp Editor will tokenize and download the tokens. If you already HAVE the tokens, the Basic Stamp Editor is not going to know what to do with them, as they're not valid PBasic source code.

As Mike says, you're on your own in this case.